LibGuides: JRN 300: Multimedia Writing & Reporting: Community Information

Community Profile

U.S. Census Bureau
Profiles, tables and maps on population and economy from the U.S. Census Bureau

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create and download maps and reports from selected census statistics and additional sources.

Local media

SRDS This link opens in a new window
Use to find local media outlets, contacts and circulation/audience.

Government

When searching for information about your town, check county and Michigan sites as well as the city/township website. Towns, hospitals and schools often report data to the county or state and don't necessarily publish the same data on their own sites.

What to look for on county/city/township websites

Planning Reports: often called master plans or comprehensive plans or land use plans.
- in-depth community and economic profiles, city issues and priorities, future development projects and strategy
- Area can also be included in regional planning reports or comprehensive plans. See Michigan regional and state-wide reports
County or city/township clerk's office: voting information, FOIA information, campaign finance (county clerk)

Ballotopedia
One of the few sites that tries to cover municipal government throughout the U.S. Election and ballot measure information as it becomes available.
Example: Detroit mayoral election 2021

MIRSnews.com This link opens in a new window
Key public policy resource on Michigan government and politics, including House and Senate legislative reports, the Capitol Capsule, news summaries from around 40 different web sites, and a daily compilation of press releases. MIRS also provides directory information for each office holder.
Michigan Manual This link opens in a new window
As the State's official manual, it includes fundamental reference information about Michigan: its history, constitutional development, government organization, and institutions. Every state has a similar manual. Michigan's is published every 2 years so look elsewhere for more current directory information.
Overview of local government structure in Michigan

Health / COVID-19

Healthcare facilities and health-realated data is organized by county in the U.S. so check county health department sites. Example: Oakland County Health Division

Money / Business

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Contains directory information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses, including detailed information for private companies and franchise locations. ***Previously known as ReferenceUSA.***
Gale Business: DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides demographics and comprehensive business and residential information. Use Geo-filter at the top of the page to find all businesses in an area. Also includes demographic and business information for area with projections.

Michigan Property Information
Use to locate property owners.

GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 3 users at a time.**
GuideStar Pro provides mission, program, and financial information on 1.8 million nonprofit organizations. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets, as well as organization reviews, annual reports, key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms.
Due to IRS processing backlogs, only 2018 and possibly 2019 forms are available.
To download reports, please contact a Business Librarian here.

Michigan Bureau of Labor Market Information
Michigan jobless rates, industry, occupation and wage information.
Use the Custom data search to get more detailed directory information and statistics for local areas.

Schools / Education

MI School Data
Current enrolment, staffing, finance and more. Use Parent Dashboard to get contact/directory information.
American Community Survey – Education Tabulation (ACS-ED)
The American Community Survey – Education Tabulation (ACS-ED) is an annual, nationwide survey designed to provide communities with reliable and timely demographic, social, economic, and housing data.

Police / Fire / Courts

FBI Crime Data Explorer
Crime and law enforcement data by police agency
Michigan State Police statistics

District courts are organized by county. Larger counties will have several for the county. Example: Oakland County

Court websites vary in the information they provide. Some offer livestreams, court documents, etc.

MSU Libraries

Guides

JRN 300: Multimedia Writing & Reporting

Have Questions? Contact me