Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Selected Resources for Latin American History: Find Books

Find Books & Other Materials

MSU Libraries Home Page Search

The default keyword search on the home page is the SearchPlus research tool. It allows users to search most of the library's online databases and the library catalog, all at the same time. Results can then be filtered by date, language, subject, and content type -- such as books, articles in scholarly journals, or newspaper articles.

MSU Library Catalog

Alternately, users may choose the Library Catalog tab on the home page, or the Databases tab to search within a specific article index.

An Advanced Catalog Search option is also available.

Try UBorrow when the book you need is checked out. UBorrow offers 12 week loan periods and 72-hour business day turnaround and should be the borrowing option you try first.

Catalogs Beyond MSU


WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Seamless links to our interlibrary loan system enable you to request items not held in MSU Libraries' collection.

Center for Research Libraries

"CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery." Its collections contain over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, and government publications, with special strengths in foreign materials. In addition to its online catalog, utilize searchable special collections databases (foreign newspapers, foreign doctoral dissertations, etc.) as needed.


Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Is the book you need checked out?

Try UBorrow!

Oxford Bibliographies

Authoritative guides leading to recommended scholarly resources. The subject module for Latin American Studies is organized into 87 topics, each beginning with a brief introductory essay.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University