Purpose or Scope of Collection
The mathematics/statistics collection serves the research and instructional needs of faculty and students in mathematics and statistics/probability as well as other disciplines. Both the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics/Probability offer Masters and Ph.D. programs in addition to undergraduate degrees. Service courses are provided to large numbers of students in other disciplines. To a limited extent, the collection also serves the general public.
History of the collection
The mathematics/mathematical statistics collection at MSU was originally housed in the Main Library. When the Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Building opened in 1949, a branch library was created in that building which housed mathematics, physics, and astronomy materials. In 1967, the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics & Probability moved to the new Wells Hall on the south side of the Red Cedar River. The mathematics materials were moved to A304 Wells Hall near the departmental offices.
In 1968 the Department of Mathematics was awarded a National Science Foundation Centers of Excellence grant and a significant portion of that grant was used for new physical facilities for the library and expansion of the collection. The library was named in honor of Vernon G. Grove, professor of mathematics at MSU from 1920-1958, for "his major role in establishing a tradition of distinguished mathematical research and scholarship" at MSU. The Vernon G. Grove Research Library, popularly referred to as the Mathematics Library, opened in 1970 on the first floor of the 3-story D-wing of Wells Hall. An atrium reaching all three stories enhances the contemplative environment of 7,000 sq. ft. and its comfortable seating for 70. The staff consists of about 16 student employees, one library assistant, and the librarian.
Collection strength and emphases
The monograph collection of about 47,000 is complemented by some 830 journal titles of which approximately 330 are current. The Library's proxy server allows MSU-affiliated individuals access to MathSciNet and 254 electronic journals. The 100+ Math Video Collection is conveniently located with new serials and new books in the Faculty Alcove.
The current collection emphasizes pure mathematics and mathematical statistics. Applied mathematics and statistics are collected on a selective basis to meet the instructional and research needs of the faculty and graduate students. The history of mathematics is not being collected as extensively as in the past due to limited funds. Collected works are not usually selected except in the case of contemporary giants. Basic textbooks are usually not purchased.
The books displayed in the faculty display case have been written or edited by a faculty member, past or current, in the Department of Mathematics, the Department of Statistics & Probability, and the Division of Science and Mathematics Education. These books, unless designated for reserved reading, may circulate with a two-week loan period. Additional copies, if available, are shelved in the book stacks and circulate with a normal loan period. The Librarian gratefully acknowledges your donations of these monographs.