Michigan State University

Medical Image Resources: Course Packs

This guide describes where to go for medical images, the restrictions for usage, and basic copyright information. Information on this guide is not intended as legal advice. Please seek appropriate counsel for legal issues concerning copyright.

Image Usage Information

This page discusses usage of images in print and electronic course packs, some of which are allowed for free via subscriptions negotiated by the MSU Libraries. For information on using images in course lectures and presentations see the Lectures page.

No Cost Resources

The MSU Libraries subscription to these resources includes payment for rights to include these images in MSU print and electronic course packs for no extra cost.  Please provide citation information when possible.

 

LWW Health Library

Images available from titles in the Basic Sciences and Osteopathic Medicine collections from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.  To access a list of images, sorted by topic or by book title, click on 'Images' in the green navigation bar.  Users can also search for images by choosing 'Images Only' in the drop-down menu next to the search box.

Note: To download and save images, open the image, right click, and select Save Image As or Save Picture As.  The figure caption and citation information do not appear in saved images, so make sure to note where an image came from when downloading them to your computer.

Please use the following citation on all images: Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved

 

Thieme Teaching Assistants

The Thieme Teaching Assistant

The Guide to Using Thieme Images (PDF) is available as a quick introduction to downloading and managing images in Thieme.

Please note - Content, figure titles, or legends may be removed from images, but the copyright notices must remain intact. Original content may be added to an image, but the addition of third-party copyrighted material is not allowed. Content added to the images becomes the property of Thieme.

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy

The anatomy collection features all images from the Gilroy, et al. Atlas of Anatomy, as well as additional illustrations and clinical images from Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine.

Please use the following citation on all images: Gilroy et al., Atlas of Anatomy.  All rights reserved. © Thieme 2008. www.thieme.com 

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Pharmacology

The pharmacology collection features all images from Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review by Mark A. Simmons.

Please use the following citation on all images: Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Physiology

This physiology collection features all images from Michael, et al. Fundamentals of Medical Physiology - a concise, in-depth introduction by organ system to the principles of body function.

Please use the following citation on all images: Fundamentals of Medical Physiology and Physiology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

 

Wiley Online Library

The platform for over 450 online journals in a variety of subjects in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.

Fee-Based Resources

There may be an additional cost to use images from these resources in course packs.  Restrictions are listed below. Unless otherwise stated, images may not be modified or altered in any way.  Please work with the Course Materials Program to obtain copyright clearance.

 

AccessAnesthesiology

Collection of anesthesiology reference tools, including electronic books.

 

AccessEmergencyMedicine

Collection of tools for the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency room cases, including textbooks and videos.

 

AccessMedicine

Over 70 medical textbooks, many with frequent online updates, including Harrison's Online, Goodman & Gilman's, and Hurst the Heart.

 

AccessSurgery

Contains textbooks, surgical videos, animations, atlases, and board reviews.

 

Clinical Key

Contains over 900 electronic textbooks, including Robbins & Cotran, Nelson's Pediatrics, and the Harriet Lane Handbook, and millions of images.

Searches can be limited to images by selecting 'Multimedia' in the blue bar at the very top of the page, then checking the box next to Images under Media Type.

 

STAT!Ref

Collection of over 40 health sciences titles, mostly medical, including the continually updated evidence based medicine resource ACP Pier.

Images may be used in electronic course materials with no additional cost.  Use of images in print course materials requires permission and additional costs may be applied.

Health Sciences Librarian

Andrea Kepsel
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
Room WG-1i
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-0898
Website / Blog Page

Health Sciences Librarian

Abraham Wheeler

awheeler@msu.edu

 

MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0893

skype me@ awheeler.msu
 

Subjects:Communicative Sciences and Disorders
 

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement