Library Resources for Medicine
Video tour of the Health Sciences Digital Library
Finding Articles
Use the databases listed below to find citations (and sometimes, electronic full text) of journal articles.
Most library databases, including PubMed/MEDLINE, OSTMED, and PsycINFO require knowledge of Boolean Operators for effective searching. Boolean Operators is just a fancy name for the search connectors AND, OR, and NOT.
Click HERE to access a Boolean Cheat Sheet (PDF).
- MEDLINE (from PubMed)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Video Guide to retrieving full text articles in PubMed
- MEDLINE (ISI)
This version of MEDLINE through the Web of Science contains the same information found in PubMed, but is presented using a different interface.
- EMBASE
The European commercially produced counterpart to MEDLINE but includes indexing for an additional 1800 journals. The MSU Libraries' subscription to EMBASE also includes the MEDLINE records but redundant records between the two databases are de-duplicated and only one entry is displayed. Stronger in international and pharmaceutical sources.
- MDConsult
A unique and comprehensive electronic collection, MDConsult offers one-stop shopping for much medical information. It includes select full text books, journals, patient guides, and much more.
- OSTMED.DR (Osteopathic Medicine Digital Repository)
OSTMED.DR® is an osteopathic medicine digital library and a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine.
- PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.
- Global Health
Global Health is a specialist international public health database for academics, researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students.
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
This is a source of clinically reliable information on more than 1000 natural medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, etc.
last updated: 3/20/2012
Health Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info MSU Libraries 366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D East Lansing, MI 48824 517-884-0893 skype me@ awheeler.msu Send Email Subjects: Health Sciences |
Subject Selector |
Contact Info Health Sciences Librarian Selector for Clinical Medicine & Liaison to the College of Human Medicine MSU Libraries 366 W. Circle Dr., Rm W310F East Lansing, MI 48824 East Lansing, MI 48824 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Health Sciences Librarian |




Loading...
