Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Medicine: Purpose or Scope of Collection

Written by:Judy Coppola, Date Drafted:January 31,1989 Revised by:John Coffey, Date Revised: December 28, 1999; January 2, 2009

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A.
Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The primary purpose of the collection is to supply the medical literature to support the teaching, research, and clinical practice needs of faculty and students in the Colleges of Human Medicine (CHM) and Osteopathic Medicine (COM); see also the collection policy for COM. The level of support is through the M.D./D.O. and/or Ph.D. levels including also the post-Doctoral level.

An ancillary purpose is to support the teaching, research, and clinical practice needs of the other health science schools including the Colleges of Veterinary Medicine and Nursing, special programs offered in the College of Human Medicine (CHM), and in those departments with which the College has collaborative or joint programs. These include but are not limited to the Center for Ethics and Humanities in the Life Sciences, Public Health, Psychiatry, and Anatomy and Radiology,and many of the basic Biomedical sciences (see the Biological/Biomedical Sciences policy). The collection is also heavily used by undergraduates and patrons from other disciplines.

B.
History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Weaknesses
Unlike most academic medical centers, MSU has no separate medical library with a tightly focused mission, nor is there a University hospital. CHM is a community-based medical school which means clinical practice, undergraduate and graduate medical education, and research takes place across six campuses through affiliations with local hospitals, physicians, and other health care providers. Campuses are located in Flint, Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Saginaw, and Marquette. Each campus has a Community Dean overseeing medical education. In addition, they all have their own Research Director and infrastructure through which research is conducted independent of CHM as well as with CHM units and investigators. Each is a vital component of the unified CHM research system. Students in their clinical clerkships, residents and faculty at the community hospitals rely heavily on their hospital libraries and interlibrary services.

The students and faculty on the main campus utilize the medical collection of the Main Library. The collection originated when the Veterinary College was established in the early 1900's and expanded with the addition of the Schools of Medical Technology and Nursing. A major impetus was the first CHM entering class (1966 - two-year program) followed in 1969 by the establishment of the College of Osteopathic Medicine and a full four-year CHM program in 1971. The Land Grant philosophy has driven the direction of MSU's innovative medical curriculum which was designed to meet the State's unmet needs with an approach different from that of Michigan's two existing medical schools.

Primary care is the major focus of both colleges of medicine and therefore collection efforts are most intensive in the areas of internal medicine, family medicine, pediatrics and obstetrics and gynecology. The biopsychosocial concept of medicine is also of major consideration so the social and behavioral sciences also constitute a major cornerstone of the collection. The entire university and community are viewed as a resource and laboratory by the faculty and students.

The residency and fellowship programs are similarly focused. Residencies are supported in internal medicine, general surgery, pediatrics, physical and rehabilitation medicine, and psychiatry. Fellowships are offered in cardiology,child and adolescent psychiatry, endocrinology, hematology/oncology,infectious disease, interventional cardiology, and neonatology.

As with most of the Life Sciences,the journal literature is the primary resource and is of greater importance/value than the monographic collection.

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement