Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Nursing: Purpose or Scope of Collection

Written by: Judy Coppola Date Drafted: 7/6/89 Date Revised: 3/27/98 by Michael Simmons; 9/22/04 by Arlene Weismantel; 2/28/06 by Jaime Blanck; 10/8/07 by Marilia Antunez; 3/30/09 by Heidi Schroeder

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The primary purpose of the collection is to provide the information resources needed to support the teaching, research and clinical practice of the faculty and students in the College of Nursing. The nursing profession encompasses health promotion, health maintenance, crisis care and rehabilitation; and the goal of nursing is to facilitate optimal health throughout the life span. As a theory-based discipline, nursing strives to improve the quality of care through the application of knowledge learned through research. The College of Nursing offers the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) and Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing (Ph.D.) degree programs. The focus of the undergraduate program is on basic professional education. There is a traditional BSN program, a RN to BSN program, and an accelerated second degree BSN program. The MSN program consists of three concentrations, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist-Education, and Nurse Anesthesia. The Nurse Practitioner concentration provides two options: adult and family. The Clinical Nurse Specialist-Education concentration prepares RNs for the advanced practice role of clinical nurse specialist (CNS) and equips them with the skills to become nurse educators. The Nurse Anesthesia concentration prepares nurses for advanced practice with the knowledge and skills to deliver safe and effective anesthesia care and assume leadership roles in the practice setting. In addition, the College of Nursing offers Post Master's Certificate Programs to meet the needs of Registered Nurses who hold a clinical master's degree in nursing and are seeking certification for advanced practice in Adult or Family Nursing and Nursing Education. A Post Master's Certificate Program in Gerontological Nursing is also offered if enough applications are received. The Ph.D. program emphasizes health status and health outcomes research within the context of community-based primary care. Required courses guide the student in the principles and methods of research for the evaluation, testing and development of theories relevant to nursing. The acquisition of remotely-accessible digital library resources is emphasized as the College of Nursing offers several online and distance courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

B. History of the Collection and Existing Strengths and Emphases

The nursing collection originated in 1950 when Michigan State College authorized a Department of Nursing Education based in the Division of Biological Sciences in the then so-named College of Science and the Arts. In 1980 the School of Nursing achieved college status. The nursing collections have been community-based in the absence of a university hospital and the physical collection is located in the Main Library, as is the medical collection.

From its inception, the nursing program has reflected the University's land grant philosophy and a commitment to innovative and broadly-based health care programs. The cross-disciplinary aspects of nursing are heavily emphasized and interest in the social and psychological aspects of health care are especially strong. Collection policies for nursing, therefore, address wide-ranging issues and topics related to nursing and materials are found among all medical call numbers and in the social sciences. The collection particularly reflects a demand for material to support nursing education, nursing research, nursing theory, and transcultural nursing. Materials related to practical and vocational nursing are collected at a minimal level, if at all.

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement