Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Osteopathic Medicine

Written by: Leslie Behm Revised by: Arlene Weismantel (2004), Marilia Antunez (2006), Susan Kendall (2009) Initial Draft: August 3, 1998

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The primary purpose of the collection is to provide the information resources specifically in osteopathy needed to support the teaching, research and clinical practice of the faculty and students in the College of Osteopathic Medicine. The College of Osteopathic Medicine provides educational programs leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree as well as master's and PhD programs in its basic science departments. The College also offers a dual degree program, the Medical Scientist Training Program, for students who wish to pursue a DO and PhD degree simultaneously. In 2009, the College expanded medical education to two locations in southeast Michigan (Macomb County and Detroit) besides the original location in East Lansing. All three sites provide the first two years of medical school, after which students go to hospital sites around the state for their 3rd and 4th years. The College of Osteopathic Medicine is integrated with approximately twenty Michigan community hospitals in a Statewide Campus System for both 3rd and 4th year undergraduate (D.O.) and graduate (residency) education.

The basic science departments jointly owned by the College of Osteopathic Medicine and other MSU Colleges are Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Medical Genetics, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Physiology. The clinical departments include Family and Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology and Ophthalmology, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Surgical Specialties, Pediatrics, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Psychiatry and Radiology. Many of the clinical departments are also jointly owned by MSU's College of Human Medicine

The vast majority of resources used by faculty and students in the College of Osteopathic Medicine for research, teaching, or study are covered by other collection policies. Students studying for the DO degree study most of the same preclinical and clinical medical topics as those studying for the MD degree. Research materials used by faculty would fall under the policies for basic biomedical sciences or clinical medicine. This policy covers only those few materials published specifically in osteopathy.

B. History of the Collection and Existing Strengths and Emphases

The existing collection builds upon a gift from Donald Seihl, D.O. The MSU Libraries owns approximately 38% of the recommended titles in the American Osteopathic Association’s Osteopathic Medical Literature in Print (2004) and approximately 50% of the titles in the Medical Library Association’s Osteopathic medicine: an annotated bibliography and guide to the literature (1998).

 
 

© 2014 Michigan State University Board of Trustees.

Privacy Statement