Recommended Sources
The MSU Libraries have many books about education in other parts of the world. However the major journal article indexes in education concentrate on North American and English language materials.
The Libraries do subscribe to more general databases that cover other parts of the world,
see PAIS
(Public Affairs Information Service) International, or a specific
area database.
A list of databases/indexes is available at http://er.lib.msu.edu/indexabstract.cfm
pull down the "Browse Indexes by subject" area to select African Studies, Asian Studies, Canadian Studies, etc.
There are also some resources available on the Web that can help researchers identify non-North American education publications:
- EURYDICE, the information network on education in Europe, produces reliable, readily comparable information on national education systems and policies. EURYDICE also acts as an observatory, highlighting both the diversity of systems and their common features.
- The Ingenta database is free to search (but MSU subscribes to only a portion of the items indexed) and includes Carfax Publishing, (part of the Taylor & Francis) and Blackwell Publishing, both of which are UK publishers.
- UNESCO's International Bureau of Education makes available a range of publications and thematic series in the field of education. See especially the IBEDOCs index of publications and the listings of IBE generated publications, most of which are available online.
- Focuss.info provides a search engine in the area of global development studies, indexing a choice of electronic resources, selected by librarians, researchers and practitioners. The resources are selected based on their relevance for development studies and the quality of the information.
- EdResearch Online is a freely searchable web database. It includes 11,000 records for journal articles from the Australian Education Index, covering all educational sectors. 8500 of the documents are available on the web for free with the remainder available for a fee.
- Database of Research on International Education contains details of books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of international education from publishers in Australia and abroad, published from 1990 onwards. The Database was funded by Australian Education International from 2003 to 2007, and since 2008 by IDP Education Pty Ltd.
- Although MSU does not subscribe to British Education Index we can use some of their services on the web. They offer a small subset database of recent BEI records, an annotated guide to Internet sites, lists of conferences and conference programs, and EducatiONLINE that provides the full text of a number of conference proceedings.
- African Higher Education Research Online AHERO is an open access archive of texts that focus on the study, practice and governance of higher education in Africa. The collection includes research reports, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, working papers, booklets, and policy documents. All the resources have been submitted by the authors and are reproduced with their permission. AHERO is administered by the Centre for the Study of Higher Education (CSHE) at the University of the Western Cape, South Africa.
- PADDLE (Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education) provides full text access to a comprehensive collection of Pacific education material. This includes publications from the participating Ministries of Education including strategic plans, education legislation, curriculum frameworks and school policies. It also contains national development plans, statistics and budget information for the fifteen Pacific countries.
- Chinese ERIC Database of article and document citations from China and Hong Kong. This project aims to establish a free electronic database of educational studies in Chinese communities. The C-ERIC collects English and Chinese articles published in 18 leading educational journals in Hong Kong, the Chinese Mainland and Taiwan, dating back to 1990.
View general Education Resources page.
Librarian |
Kate CorbyDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait