Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Philosophy Research Guide: Home

A selection of resources for Philosophy research and scholarship.

What is Philosophy? (short video)

What is Philosophy? (long video)

Basic Info


Here you'll find some basic information about the Libraries, philosophy, and a couple key resources for philosophy research. Click on the tabs above for even more tools and resources.

MSU Libraries: General Information

If you are new to using the Libraries, here is some basic information and general instruction on using library resources.

  • MSU Libraries Resources Overview
    A brief introduction to the various options on the Michigan State University Libraries Home Page. In addition to a discussion of finding books and journal articles, it briefly introduces several important Library services.

What is Philosophy?

If you are new to philosophy or just interested in the topic, try some of these resources for a basic introduction.

Philosophy: A Brief Guide for Undergraduates

This document prepared by the American Philosophical Association introduces philosophy both as a subject of inquiry and an academic discipline.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a comprehensive web-based encyclopedia of philosophy terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline, including entries on individual philosophers. Articles are extensive, written by experts in each particular topic, and edited and reviewed by subject editors.

Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is the major database for academic philosophy. It is a bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature indexed goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.

New Philosophy Books at MSU Libraries

Subject Guide

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University