LibGuides: Mergent Databases Introduction: About our Mergent Databases

What are the Mergent Databases?

Mergent Archives (previously WebReports) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical company information. Contains historical annual reports dating back to the early 1900s, digital copies of the printed volumes of Moody's/Mergent Manuals which are yearly company and municipal directories dating back to the early 1900s, historical industry reports for the major industries in North America, Latin America, Europe, and Asia Pacific, Ford Equity Research Reports, Hoover's Historical Collection of Handbooks, D&B Million Dollar Directory dating back to 1959, and the D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Archive.
Mergent EventsData This link opens in a new window
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time.***
Mergent EventsData provides information on corporate actions including mergers, bankruptcy, name changes, etc., corporate dividends including stock splits, corporate fixed income bonds, unit investment trusts, and municipal called bonds.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides basic US and global industry reports with a market analysis including competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. It also contains state profiles, sales and marketing communications templates, and an industry prospector which ranks industries based on certain characteristics.
Mergent Supply Chain This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of companies--their products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries. Covers all companies traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ. ***It is a part of Mergent Online. It has its own tab on the main page and also a tab on the company page.***
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to D&B's Hoover's private and public U.S and international company data. It also contains a directory of U.S. consumers, industry profiles, and more.
Mergent Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides access to D&B’s industry benchmarking or ratios data. Historical information is also available in Mergent Archives.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Mergent is good for finding company financials, SEC filings (US only) current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies, stock information, and executive information. It also has company history, competitors, company ownership (i.e. institutional holdings, insiders, etc.), corporate calendar, company news, industry profiles, and country profiles. ***To search the private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Includes separate tabs for Mergent Supply Chain, Mergent Bond Viewer, and Mergent Investext.***

What are the differences between the databases?

Mergent Intellect has D&B companies. It has basic company information with an easy search interface.

Mergent Online has basic information on public and private U.S. and International companies. It is the equivalent of the current Mergent manuals. It includes company financials, subsidiaries, capital stock (ex. dividends and splits), executive officers, insider traders, SEC filings, company news, company annual reports, competitor information, equity and corporate bond portraits, and industry reports.

Mergent Horizon is a tab within Mergent Online. It goes much more in depth and is more data rich than Mergent Online. However, it is mostly focused on U.S. companies. It includes much of the same information and more including suppliers, customers, and products/services. Horizon also has the ability to create reports like Merger and Acquisition Scenario Report Builder (what would happen if two different companies were to merge), Competitors by Product Report Builder, and Company Profile Report Builder (highlights a company's products and services and key business relationships). It will also give indepth information on an industry including financial data, performance, companies that are gainers/decliners, and business relationships.

Mergent Archives is made up of historical information for U.S. and International Companies. It is the digitized version of many Moody's/Mergent manual titles: Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, Public Utility, Transportation and OTC Unlisted. It is text heavy with information similar to Mergent Online but for companies in the past. It goes back to the early 1900s. It also can have historical annual reports and Key Business Ratios.

Mergent EventsData delivers real-time and historical information about events affecting public U.S. and International corporations. These events include dividend declarations, corporate milestones, and leverage acquisitions. It replaces a number of our print titles including Mergent Dividend Record, Mergent Unit Investment Trusts, and Mergent Bond Record.

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library

Mergent Databases Introduction

What are the Mergent Databases?

What are the differences between the databases?