Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Psychology Career Information

On the web or in the Library, ways to explore psychology careers.

Subject Guide

Jill Morningstar
Contact:
517-884-0852
Social:Twitter Page

Psychology Career Information

The Library has just subscribed to a new service:

Vault Career Insider is a way to research career fields, companies, and much more. Some key features include listing the best companies to work for and sample resumes/cover letters. Under the professions tab it shows characteristics of the field and personality traits suited to it and also includes “A Day in the Life” which gives an idea of a typical day in that profession. You have to create an account to use this resource.

Other resources to consider:

Online Career Information

              with significant information for Psychology Majors:

  • CareerJournal.com
    The career site of the Wall Street Journal. Users can access a jobs database, a resume database and various message boards; locate articles about resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking; and research salary negotiation.

  • CareerOneStop
    A portal to three Web sites: Career InfoNet, America's Job Bank, and The Service Locator. Career InfoNet http://www.acinet.org/acinet/default.asp offers background information on various careers. It includes Quick Time videos on careers and a resume tutorial.

  • CollegeBoard.com: Majors & Careers Central
    Discusses choosing a college major and why it matters, planning for jobs and internships. Several specialized lists and profiles of over 700 majors and careers.

  • Glassdoor.com
    An inside look at company salary details, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

  • O*NET OnLine (Occupational Information Network)
    Find occupations by skills, search by keyword, or view “Job Families.”

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    A federal government publication, this handbook provides information about numerous career choices with detailed information on what workers do on the job and expected job prospects.

  • Psychology Degree Guide
    An online directory of psychology schools, degrees and career resources.  Exactly who is providing this list is a little murky, but they don't have an obvious bias and some of the information--career guides and student interviews--is fairly unique.

  • WetFeet.com
    Specializes in offering "insider information" on dozens of industries. Features include career profiles, resume advice and examples, a self-assessment test, advice on salary negotiation, and profiles of major cities for those who are relocating.

Career Services at MSU

Career Services Network at MSU

A connection to career service professionals located throughout campus.  Provides advising, practice interviewing and contact with employers. Helps with selecting the right major, looking for a part-time job, finding an internship or interviewing for a career position.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University