Locating Journals at MSU
When in doubt, contact me directly! My contact info is on the far right side of the page.
-
Begin at the Health Sciences Digital Library http://www.lib.msu.edu/health
-
In the middle of the page under "Quick Links"
-
find A-Z E-Journal List
-
On the next page in the middle of the screen under "Find e-journals by title or ISSN"
-
Enter the title of the journal or ISSN if known.
-
Hit the "search" button
-
If there are multiple entries for your journal match the one that covers the correct date range of your citation.
- You will be prompted for your MSUnet ID and Password
Here is an example of an electronic journal citation:
American journal of public health (1971) (0090-0036)
|
from 01/01/1971 to present in HighWire Press |
Cant find it in the A-Z E Journal list?
If your journal does not show up here, check the library catalog. You will need to do a "Journal/Periodical Title" search for that periodical in the library catalog.
The results will begin to tell you whether or not the library subscribes to the journal and has the issue that you need, in a print or digital format.
If the article is in Print only you can have a copy emailed to you free through our new MARS system http://www.lib.msu.edu/about/ils/photodup.jsp
If MSU does not subscribe to the journal, you can request it through Inter Library Loan http://lib.msu.edu/health/requests.jsp
Locating articles
Use the databases listed below to find citations (and sometimes, electronic full text) of journal articles.
Most library databases, including PubMed/MEDLINE, require knowledge of Boolean Operators for effective searching. Click here to access a Boolean Cheat Sheet (PDF).
- PubMed@MSU
If you are looking for scholarly articles in Public Health, start with PubMed. The database covers almost all major journals in the field. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.
-
- Hot to get an article you found in pubmed (Video tutorial)
- Hot to get an article you found in pubmed (Video tutorial)
- Global Health
Global Health is an international public health database that has comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it also focuses on the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (on EBSCO)
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This resource focuses on journal articles from Nursing, and Allied Health fields like Speech therapy, nutrition, physical therapy, etc.
The major database for psychology research articles and a great resource for mental health topics and health seeking behaviors.
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
CDC Image of the Day
Health Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info MSU Libraries 366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D East Lansing, MI 48824 517-884-0893 skype me@ awheeler.msu Send Email Subjects: Health Sciences |


Loading...
