Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SOC 362: Developing Societies: Cuba: Background Reading

Prof. Jualynne Dodson, Fall 2016

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

Sociology & Social Sciences Reference Books in Print

Encyclopedia of Sociology. Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, c2000. [HM425 .E5 2000, Main]

The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology. Nicholas Abercrombie, Stephen Hill, Bryan S. Turner. London: Penguin, 2000. [HM17 .A23 2000, Main]

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. Bryan S. Turner, general editor. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. [HM425 .C36 2006, Main]

Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Edited by Craig Calhoun. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. [H41 .D53 2002, Main]

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language.  Allan G. Johnson. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Publishers, 2000. [HM17 .J64 2000, Main]

Latin America & the Caribbean

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience  2nd. ed. (5 vols.)
  [Also in print: DT14 .A37435 2005 Africana Reference, 2 East]

Cambridge History of Latin America  online, and in print.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean.
[F1406 .C36 1992 Main Reference]

A useful single volume encyclopedia, profusely illustrated. Organized into six broad sections: Physical environment, Economy, Peoples, History, Politics and Society, and Culture

Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American BiographyFranklin W. Knight and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016. 6 vols. [F2195.B55 D53 2016 Main Reference]

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Digital version of the 2008, 6 volume edition. Coverage includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Utilize the general index to locate entries on your topic.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics [F1410 .E56 2001 Main Reference]

Includes political figures, organizations, and events from the 18th - 20th centuries, but with an emphasis on the 20th century. Organized by country, each chapter includes a country profile, brief historical overview, 20-40 entries, a list of heads of state, and a bibliography. There are two appendices of entries that don't fit well in the country-by- country format: one of multi-lateral agreements, organizations, and wars, and one of U.S. foreign policy in the region.

Encyclopedia of Slave Resistance and Rebellion
[E447 .E53 2007 Main]

Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas
[HT1048 .O94 2010 Main]

Oxford Handbook of the Atlantic World
[D210 .O94 2011 Main]


Just About Cuba

Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture [2 vols.]
[F1754 .E53 2003 Main]

Sage Knowledge

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference searches numerous online reference works simultaneously, including the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.


Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Questions about Sociology resources?

Contact Carin Graves

Librarian for Sociology, Social Work, and Human Development and Family Studies

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University