Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Sociology Videos: Searching for Videos @MSU

Searching the Catalog for Streaming and Physical Copies of Videos

How to search the Catalog for videos

Videos are searchable in the library catalog and in individual streaming video database collections.  Most streaming video content from our database collections is uploaded into the library catalog and searchable there. 

Please note that there may be lag-time in uploading library catalog records for recent updates to streaming video database collections.  Searching in both the library catalog and in relevant streaming video databases is the best way to ensure a comprehensive search.

Search Option #1: Library Catalog search for all video formats (hard copy and streaming)

  1. Go to the Advanced Search screen for the library catalog.
  2. Highlight the material type limiter for Video/Visual
  3. Enter your search terms and click Submit.

Search Option #2: Library Catalog search for only streaming video

  1. Go to the Advanced Search screen for the library catalog.
  2. Highlight the material type limiter for Video/Visual
  3. Change the collection limiter to Electronic Resources
  4. Enter your search terms and click Submit.

Streaming Video Content

Streaming Video Databases

Choose a relevant video database to search within

The MSU Libraries offer a number of different online streaming video database collections in our E-Resources.  View our complete list of streaming video databases on the E-Resources Media page.
 

The Academic Video Online database allows you to search simultaneously across all of our Alexander Street Press (ASP) streaming video collections. 

 

Kanopy Films provides access to several documentaries on current events, history, social science, and area studies.

Sociology Librarian

Carin Graves

Librarian for Sociology, Social Work, and Human Development and Family Studies

gravesc@msu.edu

Michigan State University