Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Spanish American Literature: A Guide to Selected Resources: Find Books

Find Books & Other Materials

MSU Libraries Home Page Search

The default keyword search on the home page is the SearchPlus research tool. It allows users to search most of the library's online databases and the library catalog, all at the same time. Results can then be filtered by date, language, subject, and content type -- such as books, articles in scholarly journals, or newspaper articles.

MSU Library Catalog

Alternately, users may choose the Library Catalog tab on the home page, or the Databases tab to search within a specific article index.

MSU Libraries' Catalog (Advanced search option)

Use the catalog to find materials owned by the library, including books, journals, videos, music CDs, and resources in electronic formats.

Try UBorrow or MeLCat when the book you need is checked out or not owned by MSU Libraries. UBorrow offers 12 week loan periods and 72-hour business day turnaround and should be the borrowing option you try first.

Beyond MSU

WorldCat

WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. It contains more than 52,000,000 bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Seamless links to our interlibary loan system enable you to request items not held in MSU Libraries' collection.

FINDING LITERARY CRITICISM IN THE CATALOG

There are a number of general handbooks, or surveys of Spanish American literature, such as:

Handbook of Latin American Literature. David William Foster, ed. 2nd. ed. New York: Garland, 1992.
[PQ7081 .A1 H36 1992]

Franco, Jean. An Introduction to Spanish-American Literature. 3rd. ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.
[PQ7081 .F64 1994]

Likely to be of greatest value however, are specialized works of literary criticism, be they of national literatures, of individual authors, or of classes of authors, for example, authors in exile. Monographic length works on individual authors can be found in the catalog by searching the author's name. Criticism of a national or regional literature, or of the works of certain classes of authors or certain literary forms are plentiful. Combinations of terms, searched as keywords and/or subject terms will give the best results. For example:

Framing the Word: Gender and Genre in Caribbean Women's Writing is found by searching the term "Caribbean literature" or "Women authors, Caribbean"

Ethnicity and Identity in contemporary Afro-Venezuelan Literature: A Culturalist Approach is found by the terms "Venezuelan literature" and "Black authors"

Is the book you want checked out?

Try  UBorrow when the book you need is checked out. Materials ordered through UBorrow should be in your hands within a few days.

Interlibrary Loan Information

This page summarizes options for borrowing different types of materials (books, articles, theses, etc.) from other libraries. Most of the time you will probably just link from the catalog and other databases to the appropriate loan request form.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

zeter@msu.edu

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University