Social Work Resources: Background Information

Key disciplinary encyclopedia for social work.

Key disciplinary encyclopedia for social work. Articles are through the "social work lens" for maximum relevance and usefulness.

Oxford Bibliographies Online offers research guides on a wide variety of subjects that combine features of annotated bibliographies and subject-specific high-level encyclopedias. Summarizes main discussion areas within a particular topic and provides contextual citations to key works.

v. 1. The profession of social work / volume editor, Barbara W. White -- v. 2. Human behavior in the social environment / volume editor, Bruce A. Thyer -- v. 3. Social work practice / volume editors, William Rowe, Lisa A. Rapp-Paglicci -- v. 4. Social policy and policy practice / volume editor, Ira C. Colby.

"People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access torelevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continueto evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues.In the first and second editions of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, the changes that were occurring in social work practice, education, and research were highlighted and focused upon. This third edition continues in the same tradition and continues to respond to the changes occurring in societyand how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole. With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge andempirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the SocialWorkers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research."

"The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Work provides a concise guide to 400 topics relevant to the practice of social work in the 21st Century. It brings together 250 top authors and covers all service user groups." [publisher description]

"For over 25 years, The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology has been the reference tool psychologists, researchers, academics, and students have turned to for the most up-to-date and extensive coverage of the field of psychology. The fourth edition of this beloved reference work has been updated and expanded to reflect new research in many exciting areas including biological and neurological discoveries."

Available online or in print.

"The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application." [publisher description]

"This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences." [publisher description]

"Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences." [publisher description]