This is the "Worldwide and Regional Treaties" page of the "Treaty Research: Sources and Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Treaty Research: Sources and Tips  

This guide provides sources for full text of treaties as well as tips for finding further information about treaties.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/treaties Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Worldwide and Regional Treaties Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Treaty Texts

United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series,(see Treaty Texts below) and Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (also available in paper: Latest in Gov. Docs. Reference KZ171 .M86; earlier in Int'l Docs 3 West at same call number). Available on MSU campus only--no remote access. To identify relevant treaties available in full text, the United Nations Treaty Series volumes can be searched by dates, country, subject terms, registration number, etc, or a combination of fields. Multilateral Treaties provides a comprehensive list of signatures and ratification dates for all treaties deposited with the Secretary-General. A subject index is available. Links to the United Nations Treaty Series and other official sources are also provided. Most valuable is the inclusion of the texts of various countries' declarations, reservations and objections to sections of the treaties.

European Union: EurLex Treaty website
Has the basic legal texts on which the European Union and the European Communities are founded: the founding Treaties (original versions and later updatings), the amending Treaties, the Accession Treaties for each of the five enlargements, plus other selected treaties (some are not available in English).

European Conventions and Agreements.
(Int'l. Docs. 3 West JN94.A58 C68 1993 ) is a multi-volume set containing the texts of international treaties concluded within the Council of Europe from 1949-1998.

European Treaty Series
(Int'l. Docs. JX626 1954 .E8 #, or search the name of the treaty in the library catalog). Covers the most recent treaties (post 1998) The texts and ratification information are also available via the
Council of Europe's Treaties web site.

League of Nations Treaty Series. (LNTS)
(Main JX170 .L4) Also available online by searching the United Nations Treaty series above: use the Advanced Search feature and use the limit by organization feature (LN=League of Nations).

 

Tracking Recent Treaties

Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General
Currently tracks the status of 510 treaties going back to before 1920. Lists signatories, has links to the full text of the treaties, and lists declarations and reservations of each country participating.

Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties

International Legal Materials
This journal, published by the American Society of International Law (ASIL), publishes the full-text of important treaties soon after signing. The journal is available online back to 1962.

Government Information Librarian

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip