To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic. From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-Resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page. If you are not sure which Index to search, there is a heading for Veterinary Medicine under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title.
Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.
- CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- Web of Science
Web of Science can be search by keyword, but what it does that no other database/index does, is track who has cited whom, which is called cited reference searching. Here is a tutorial on cited reference searching. For students in clinics, Web of Science is useful in this situation: An unusual case is in the VTH, and the clinician hands you an article on the disease or disorder. The article is five years old. You are left wondering what has been written since the article was published. A cited reference search of Web of Science will tell you if the article has been cited in 8000 journals.
- CONSULTANT (Cornell)
It covers 7,000 diseases of 8 species. Avian is the only exotic covered. Free on the web.
Diagnostic support when searched by sign.
Online textbook when searched by diagnosis.
Updated weekly, filtered for quality.
Links to PubMed and other relevant sites for each disease.
Help page, brochure http://www.lib.utk.edu/agvet/veterinary/Consultant.pdf
PubMed provides web access to bibliographic information.
- Take the PubMed Tutorial in the blue bar on the left and/or see the Help and FAQ pages.
From the MSU Libraries' indexes page, type in PubMed. The benefit of getting to PubMed via the databases page is that the FIND TEXT button will link you to the full-text of the article, if available. PubMed is also free on the web at pubmed.gov.
- VIN (Veterinary Information Network)
Vin provides access to the veterinary literature via the Search function plus: message boards, conference proceedings, Plumb's, CE, Veterinary Partner for clients, and more. VIN claims to have 19,000 members of which 7,000 are students. VIN is free to veterinary students of sponsored universities who provide their student email address (e.g., firstname.lastname@example.org). To Register, go to the student promo page.
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.
- Biological & Agricultural Index
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
- Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
- Google Scholar
I don't recommend searching Google to find academic/scholarly journal articles. But Google Scholar is a good resource when searching for Conference Proceedings.