Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Finding Veterinary Medicine Related Journal Articles: Finding Articles On A Specific Topic

Page Coordinator: Andrea Kepsel Last updated: 09-05-2014

How do I look for ARTICLES on a specific topic?

How do I look for journal articles on my research topic?

Use a periodical index such as CAB Abstracts or PubMed.

What is a periodical index?

A periodical index contains the citations of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. Some periodical indexes contain abstracts or brief summaries of the articles. A few contain the full text or entire content of whole articles as they originally appeared in the periodical. There are hundreds of different periodical indexes designed for different purposes and areas of study.

There are so many periodical indexes, how do I know which one to use?

From the library's home page (http://lib.msu.edu), click on E-Resources under Quick Links. Click on Indexes in the top left corner. Under "Browse Indexes by Subject" click on the down arrow, scroll down to and highlight "Veterinary Medicine" and click GO for a list of Indexes or try the Veterinary Medicine Research Guide page. It highlights some of the most useful veterinary related indexes to use.

For example, say you are looking for information on Lameness in Horses. Choosing either CAB Abstracts or PubMed would be a good place to start. Both indexes have a strong Veterinary Medicine component and would contain information on Lameness in Horses. CAB Abstracts is focused more on Agriculture and Animal Science and PubMed contains more Human Medicine.
Once in the index enter the terms (Horses and Lameness) or ((Equine or Horses) and Lameness)for results.

Health Sciences Librarian

Andrea Kepsel
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
Room WG-1i
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-0898
Website / Blog Page
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University