Skip to main content
Michigan State University

VM 150: Hospital Procedures & Communication

Information and resources for students in VM 150: Hospital Procedures & Communication. Last updated: 9/18/17.

Databases

When starting your search for journal articles, PubMed and CAB Abstracts are the top recommended databases for veterinary medicine literature.

Can't find what you are looking for? There are a number of other databases available from the MSU Libraries that are used in veterinary medicine. Which database you choose to search will depend on what your topic is.

I have the citation for an article, how do I find the full text?

The easiest way to locate a journal is to do a title search in the MSU Libraries' online catalog.

Electronic Journals

I need an article that is not available. What do I do?

The MSU Libraries provides free copies of non-electronic journal articles and individual book chapters for personal research. Documents will be made available through your library account.

What if the item you need is not available at the MSU Libraries? To obtain items that the MSU Libraries do not own, such as books or journal articles, you can request an Interlibrary Loan through the Get It @MSU service.

Choosing a Database to Search

How do I know which database to search? This chart can help identify the best database depending on your topic and what you hope to find.

 

Database
Subject Coverage
Format coverage
Years covered online--MSU

PubMed (Medline)

This database from the National Library of Medicine covers not only clinical medicine but also many areas of biology including biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, physiology, microbiology, immunology, etc, and is the most heavily used database in the biomedical sciences..

PubMed is the preferred platform for research biologists because it contains many additional links to databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

journals only 1966-present
CAB Abstracts This British database covers agriculture, veterinary science, animal science, and some basic biological journals (to a lesser extent). Biology coverage not as good as Web of Science or BA, but it does cover proceedings literature not covered in either of those. journals, book chapters, reports, proceedings 1910-present
Web of Science Covers all areas of science and therefore spans the literature from ecology to plant science to genetics to biochemistry to chemistry to medicine. Very good one-stop source for biologists whose work spans several of these areas. Contains citation counts for articles. journals only 1900-present

Biological Abstracts (BA)

Covers all areas of biological sciences including areas not covered by PubMed/Medline such as ecology, plant sciences, zoology, or wildlife literature. Not updated as frequently as Medline and coverage of some biomedical journals not as good as Medline. journals only 1926-present
Scopus Similar to Web of Science, Scopus is an interdisciplinary database covering all of the sciences. Whereas Web of Science is selective in choosing the "best journals", Scopus is more comprehensive and is the largest database. It does not go back as far in time as Web of Science. Also contains citation counts for articles back to 1996. journals, some conference proceedings coverage for journals varies, citation information only back to 1996
Michigan State University