This is the "Finding Books" page of the "VM 830: Food Safety Research Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

VM 830: Food Safety Research Methods  

A guide to MSU Library resouces and services.
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/vm830 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching the Library Catalog

The catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including books, journals, government documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc. If you live within the U.S., we can arrange to ship most circulating items to you. See information under "Request Materials."

When should I use the catalog?

  • To find whether we own a specific book
  • To browse for books on a topic
  • To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper

NOTE: You cannot use the catalog to find individual articles within a magazine-you must use a periodical index for that (See Finding Articles).

Begin with a keyword search which allows the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (e.g. "food safety and packaging"; "pesticide residues and food"); click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., food contamina* will find food contamination, food contaminants; food label* will find food label, food labels, food labelling). Alternatively, you can do a subject search instead of a keyword search. Subject searches are more precise, but require the use of the standardized Library of Congress subject headings assigned by catalogers. Some of the official Library of Congress subject headings used in this area are:

FOOD-SAFETY MEASURES

FOOD-TOXICOLOGY

FOOD ADDITIVES

FOOD ADULTERATION AND INSPECTION

FOOD ALLERGY

FOOD CONTAMINATION

FOOD MICROBIOLOGY

FOOD POISONING

FOOD SPOILAGE

FOODBORNE DISEASES

PESTICIDE RESIDUES IN FOOD

RADIATION PRESERVATION OF FOOD

RADIOACTIVE CONTAMINATION OF FOOD

SEAFOOD CONTAMINATION 

 

Finding E-books in the Catalog

Need something online?: You can search for Electronic Materials only. To find resources by topic, click Keyword or Subject, enter your search terms, and click the Search button. You will retrieve a list of electronic resources, ranked by relevancy and displayed 50 per screen, with the most recent listed first. Click on a title of interest for further information and hyperlink.


The Knovel Food Science Collection features over 200 fully-searchable handbooks and reference works covering all areas of food science and technology. Many are related to food microbiology, food safety & quality.

Some selected e-books:

Food Regulation: Law, Science, Policy and Practice

Food Safety Culture: Creating a Behavior-Based Food Safety Management System

Food Safety for the 21st Century: Managing HACCP and Food Safety throughout the Global Supply Chain

Food Safety Management: Implementing a Food Safety Program in a Food Retail Business

Foodborne Disease Outbreaks: Guidelines for Investigation and Control (WHO)

Foodborne Diseases

Foodborne Microbial Pathogens: Mechanisms and Pathogenesis

HACCP: A Practical Approach

HACCP and ISO 22000: Application to Foods of Animal Origin

Microbial Food Safety: An Intoduction

Microbiological Research and Development for the Food Industry

Molecular, Biological and Immunological Techniques and Applications for Food Chemists

Procedures to Investigate Foodborne Illness

Rapid Detection and Characterization of Foodborne Pathogens by Molecular Techniques

Sanitation: Cleaning and Disinfection in the Food Industry

Statistical Aspects of the Microbiological Examination of Foods

Statistical Methods for Food Science: Introductory Procedures for the Food Practitioner

 

Online Reference Resources

Reference books (both in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you to:

  • Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
  • Identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  • Find references to other books and articles on the subject
  • Find specific keywords to use in online searches

You may find the following useful:

AccessMedicine. An searchable collection of more than 60 standard medical textbooks.

Animal Health and Production Compendium

The Animal Health and Production Compendium is a mixed multi-media reference tool, focusing on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry, and breeding. Includes modules in poultry, pigs, and small and large ruminants, with text, pictures, graphs, maps, diagnostic aids, etc. Food safety and quality information was recently added to help livestock farmers and associated professionals deliver healthy animals and safe, nutritious animal products to the food industry.**This resource is restricted to 2 simultaneous users.**

Bad Bug Book

This handbook provides basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins. It brings together in one place information from the Food & Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service, and the National Institutes of Health.

Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria

Designed for use by plant pathologists and veterinary and medical mycologists, these provide integrated information to allow identification/confirmation of identity of significant species, along with related information on pathology or other economic significance. Contains more than 1600 sheets, each devoted to a single species and authored by experts.

EcoSal

A new, continually updated Web resource based on the classic ASM Press print publication, Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular Biology. Comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation with links to cognate sites containing extensive tabular and pictorial presentations, as well as to active databases of primary research information.

eLS (Encyclopedia of Life Sciences)

This encyclopedia from the Nature Publishing Group is a useful starting point for virtually any topic in biology. Articles are written at various levels of complexity: Introductory articles for undergraduates/non-specialist readers needing basic concepts; Secondary articles for advanced undergraduates/graduates with material equivalent to graduate level texts; Special Essay covering "hot topics" and controversial issues written by the world's most eminent scientists.

Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology. Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Food Chemicals Codex 8th edition. Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Gale Virtual Reference Library. Searches several online encyclopedias at once.

FDsys

Formerly, GPO Access, a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government, including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and Federal Register. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

Sage Knowledge. A searchable collection of Sage encyclopedias and handbooks.

Sage Research Methods

A tool to assist researchers, faculty and students with research projects, containing links to over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content.

STATSnetBASE

An unparalleled repository of world-class references, this online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data. **Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**

Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Anita Ezzo
Contact Info
MSU Libraries
366 West Circle Dr., E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-6397
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip