UGS 200H - Women in STEM Disciplines at MSU: Home

Catalog, Officers, and Graduates of the Michigan Agricultural College for the Years 1857-1916 (Inclusive), Together with Other Information of General Interest. (East Lansing : The College, 1916)

Annual Report of the Secretary of the State Board of Agriculture of the State of Michigan... and Annual Report of the Agricultural College Experiment Station. (Lansing : Robert Smith, 1897-1948)

The Wolverine (Also called the Heliostat and Gluck-auf for some years)

East Lansing, MI

The Red Cedar Log

East Lansing, MI:  Michigan State University

MSU Libraries' History of MSU Research Guide

Most library books about MSU can be found in the MSU Collection which is located on the first floor in the East wing of the Main Library

Michigan Women's Historical Center & Hall of Fame

The MWHC has inducted scores of women into its Hall of Fame. Check the biographies online to see if they located subjects you haven't found yet, or if a biography includes information on a subject that you don't have yet.

Archival records for the Women in Science and Engineering Program at University of Michigan

Are you working on a subject who graduated from the University of Michigan, then came to teach at MSU? She may have been interviewed for UM's Women's History in Michigan Science and Engineering Oral History Project.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)

Find out which biographical encyclopedias have an entry on your subject. Then use the library catalog to search for the title of the encyclopedia you need.

MSU Libraries' Biography Research Guide

MSU Libraries' Genealogy & Local History Research Guide

Oral History Online

• MSU subscribes to this database, which indexes the contents of oral history projects at universities, archives, museums, etc. Many have transcripts online. 

Michigan Oral History Project Database

• The Reuther Library at Wayne State compiles this index to Michigan oral histories. There is overlap with Oral History Online, but worth checking!

Digital Public Library of America

• DPLA is a site connecting you to digitized collections at hundreds of public libraries, big and small, around the country.

MeL Michigana (Michigan eLibrary)

• MeL Michigana is a collection of digitized materials from about 75 libraries around Michigan. (The page says "15 collections" but 75 libraries contributed content.)

Google Patents

Full text of patent grants and applications from around the world.

*ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Use to locate the master's thesis or doctoral dissertation your subject wrote. Also, use to find out if your subject served on thesis or dissertation committees while she was a faculty member.

Web of Science

Use to find articles in scientific journals written by your subject. Most citations link to full text.

WorldCat

Lists the holdings of 16,000 libraries in 100+ countries. Use to find books, scientific reports, etc. written by your subject.

Michigan Newspapers

If your subject grew up in Michigan, check her home town paper to see if articles from the past are archived.

MSU Newspapers

Find out if your subject was ever featured in an MSU student or faculty newspaper, or perhaps wrote an editorial or article.