Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find additional resources in the MSU Library Catalog, try some of the following search terms:
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans
- Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945
- Japanese Americans -- Social conditions -- 20th century
- United States. War Relocation Authority
- Concentration camps -- United States -- History -- 20th century
For primary resources, try the following search terms:
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, Japanese American
Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
This collection includes digital scans of Adam's photo documentation of the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California.
Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942-1946
This collection features 29 newspaper titles written at seven camp locations. These newspapers were written in both English and Japanese and contain news, event advertisement, logistical information on relocation, and editorials.
Japanese American Archival Collection ImageBase
From the University of California Sacramento, this digital collection presents roughly 1400 images of artifacts related to Japanese internment during WWII.
Japanese American Internment Collection from Washington State University
This digital collection features several collections of materials donated by families who experienced internment. It highlights the experience of those living in camps in California, Colorado, Idaho, and Wyoming.
Japanese American National Museum
This museum includes several collections documenting Japanese internment in WWII. Online collections include the Clara Breed Collection, Stanley Hayami Diary, Hisako Hibi Collection, George Hoshida Collection, Walter Muramato Collection, and much more. Many of these feature photographs, drawings, paintings, and other illustrations of life in the concentration camps.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA)
Powered by the California Digital Library, this digital archive includes four collections of primary source materials related to Japanese internment. Includes photographs, newsletters, administrative records, personal diaries and letters, and more.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive, 1941-1946
From the University of Southern California, this collection documents the experiences of Japanese Americans interned in California. Includes photographs, manuscripts, oral histories, letters, archival inventories, and other documents.
Japanese Relocation and Internment Documents from the National Archives and Records Administration
This page from the National Archives and Records Administration provides links to collections of NARA documents on Japanese internment, including documents and photographs, newspaper articles, government records, and more. This page also features highlighted resources from other institutions.
Topaz Japanese American Relocation Center Digital Collection
From Utah State University, this digital collection focuses on the experience of those interned at the Topaz Relocation Center in Delta, Utah. Includes government documents, reports, camp literary magazines and camp school yearbooks.