The Five Pillars define the scope of Wikipedia, and the general expectations for content, use and community.
The Five Pillars of Wikipedia are:
Wikipedia is an encyclopedia.
Wikipedia is written from a neutral point of view.
Wikipedia is free content that anyone can use, edit, and distribute.
Editors should treat each other with respect and civility.
Wikipedia has no firm rules.
From Wikipedia's notability guidelines (that is, who and what are allowed to be the topic of a Wikipedia article?):
"If a topic has received significant coverage in reliable sources that are independent of the subject, it is presumed to be suitable for a stand-alone article or list.
'Significant coverage' addresses the topic directly and in detail, so that no original research is needed to extract the content. Significant coverage is more than a trivial mention but it need not be the main topic of the source material.
'Reliable' means sources need editorial integrity to allow verifiable evaluation of notability, per the reliable source guideline. Sources may encompass published works in all forms and media, and in any language. Availability of secondary sources covering the subject is a good test for notability.
'Sources' should generally be secondary sources, as those provide the most objective evidence of notability. There is no fixed number of sources required since sources vary in quality and depth of coverage, but multiple sources are generally expected. Sources do not have to be available online and do not have to be in English. Multiple publications from the same author or organization are usually regarded as a single source for the purposes of establishing notability.
'Independent of the subject' excludes works produced by the article's subject or someone affiliated with it. For example, advertising, press releases, autobiographies, and the subject's website are not considered independent.
'Presumed' means that significant coverage in reliable sources creates an assumption, not a guarantee, that a subject should be included in Wikipedia. A more in-depth discussion might conclude that the topic actually should not have a stand-alone article—perhaps because it violates what Wikipedia is not, particularly the rule that Wikipedia is not an indiscriminate collection of information.
If a topic does not meet these criteria but still has some verifiable facts, it might be useful to discuss it within another article."
Wikipedia's conduct guidelines on editing with a conflict of interest
Conflict of interest guide for galleries, libraries, archives, and museums
When in doubt:
Declare your affiliation on your user page to make it clear to the editing community.
Propose changes by using the {{request edit}} template on talk pages.