Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians / Frederick E. Hoxie, editor.
(This resource was published in 1996) From the book description: Written by more than 260 authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors offering an informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present.
Encyclopedia of American Indian issues today. Russell M. Lawson, editor
(Published in 2006) Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today features subjects commonly discussed, including reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues.
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America
Collection of 150 essays on women and religion, some on Native American religion.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, including the arts and culture of Native Americans/First Nations
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, books, reports in Anthropology, from the early 19th century to the present.
Art Full Text with Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
art databases including journals such as American Indian Art Magazine and Native Peoples Magazine.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes The Ojibwe News. Coverage begins in 1990.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 100 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Library Guide To Native American Studies