Michigan State University

Database List

Find the best library databases for your research.

Browse Databases

Loading...

New & Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
From zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs, 1980s Culture and Society is an eclectic and multi-faceted resource compiled from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
Asian Life in America, Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Asian Life in America is the most comprehensive digital collection of primary source documents from and about Americans of Asian and Pacific Islander heritage—including Chinese, Filipinos, Japanese, Koreans, South Asians, Vietnamese and many others. Featuring diverse perspectives from more than 35 million primary source documents in 41 languages, this three-part series allows researchers in numerous disciplines to interpret and understand the cultures, histories and daily lives of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders across four centuries.
Bloomsbury 20th-Century French Thought This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains over 25 works by French thinkers in translation, over 130 secondary works interpreting their works, thematic articles (on French feminism, critical phenomenology, decolonizing French philosophy, etc.), and biographical articles on 20 significant individuals.
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 spectacular fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability.
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, with entries by international authors, who provide thematic and topical entries and regional overviews. In addition, there are visual resources from U.K. Senate House Library, British Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC); 170 electronic books published by Bloomsbury, Tauris, Arc Humanities, and Amsterdam University Press; scholar contributed study resources, lesson plans, and commentaries on primary sources; and a timeline with a global focus.
Cambridge Textbooks Online This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s) Over 1,150 textbooks published by Cambridge University Press, covering a variety of subjects.
Capitol Hill Access This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Capitol Hill Access is the leading source of comprehensive, timely and objective campaign finance and lobbying information. Capitol Hill Access helps you analyze the flow of money through the political system by providing campaign donation and expenditure data from to the 1979-80 election cycle through the most recent filings.
China Project This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s) The China Project
Access provided by the MSU Office of China Programs.

The China Project is a New York-based, China-focused news, information, and business services platform covering the business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China.
Chronicle of Higher Education Reports & Guides This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Electronic access to these reports:

2026 The Decade Ahead
A Curriculum That Matters
Being an Effective Trustee
Building a Faculty That Flourishes
Building Students' Resilience
Building Tomorrow's Work Force
Career-Ready Education
College as a Public Good
Diverse Leadership for a New Era
Diversifying Your Campus
Financial Strategies for the Future
Fixing the College Fundraising Crunch
Fostering Students' Free Expression
Improving the Transfer Handoff
Managing Political Tensions
Managing the 21st Century Parent
Moving Online Now
New Pathways From College to Career
Online 2.0
Overwhelmed
Preparing for Climate Change and Cyberattacks
Preparing for Tough Conversations
Recruiting and Retaining Students in a Challenging Market
Reforming Gen Ed
Reimagining the Student Experience
Reopening Campus
Restructuring a University
Retaining Underserved Students
Senior Leadership: The Challenge of Leading Today’s Colleges
Senior Leadership: Managing a Crisis
Senior Leadership: The Successful President of Tomorrow
Solving Higher Ed's Staffing Crisis
Strategies for Today's Legal Threats
Surviving as a Small College
Sustaining the College Business Model
The Accessible Campus
The Adult Student
The Adult Student Guide
The Campus as City
The Challenge of Leading Today's Colleges
The Chronicle Guide to Coronavirus and Your Career
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Leading a Department
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Leaving the Academy
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Managing the Tenure Track
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Research
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Service & Collegiality
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Teaching & Presenting
The Chronicle Productivity Guide to Writing & Publishing
The Creativity Challenge
The Environmentally Resilient Campus
The Future of Advising
The Future of Campus Safety
The Future of Enrollment
The Future of Gen Z
The Future of Learning
The Future of Learning Guide
The Future of Teaching
The Future of the Degree
The Future of Work
The Innovation Imperative
The Library of the Future
The Looming Enrollment Crisis
The New Academic Workplace
The New Generation of Students
The New Learning Partnerships
The Next Enrollment Challenge
The Outsourced University
The Post-Pandemic College
The Recession-Proof College
The Research Driven University
The Right Mix of Academic Programs
The Rise of Performance-Based Funding
The Successful President of Tomorrow
The Truth About Student Success
The Tuition Pricing Crisis
The Unionized Campus
Today's Global Campus
Today's Mission Critical Campus Jobs
Trouble at the Top
Using Student Data Responsibly
What Community Colleges Need to Thrive
Dar al-Mandumah This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s) Mandumah
Dar al-Mandumah offers Arabic scholarly output since 1920, over a million Arabic items and 65K items in English, French and other languages. Covers 1,900 journals in 6 groups: AraBase for language and literature; IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law; HumanIndex for humanities; EcoLink for economic and management studies; EduSearch for education; and a Dissertations & Thesis specialized database.
Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
Trial
Trial access through 3/31/2024.
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes. It includes evidence-based disease and conditions topics, signs and symptoms, test and labs and care interventions to support nurses' and allied health professionals' decision support needs.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
EEB Collection 12 offers 1,200 titles from the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris, on topics of history and governance drawn from works published across France, from the earliest incunabula to items dating from the late 17th century.
Early European Books Collection 16 presents a generous and insightful survey of French culture during the early modern period through a selection of printed items drawn from the holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Early European Books Collection 17 follows on from the previous collection's broad survey of the early modern French cultural scene by delivering a more specific focus on the theme of Statecraft and Law.
Early European Books Collection 18 extends its coverage of content from the BnF in Paris through a selection drawn entirely from the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, a historic repository first made part of the French national library in 1934. Featuring over 900 individual items and more than 500,000 pages of content dedicated to the theme of history and chronicles, Collection 18 provides privileged access to the Arsenal's wealth of treasures in this area.
EEB Collection 19 offers 1,000 titles about travel and journeys to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and many parts of Europe. All works in the EEB series were published in 1700 or earlier.
Early Modern Books This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Early Modern Books (EMB) is both a search engine for, and a full text database of, works in Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Early European Books (EEB). EEBO contains works printed in England or other English-speaking places, 1450-1700. EEB contains works printed on the Continent of Europe, 1450-1700. Full texts are only viewable for the parts of the database that we own, which is all EEBO, including EEBO TCP, but only a small amount of EEB (module 12, French history/governance; module 16, French culture in the early modern period; module 17, French statecraft and law; module 18, history and chronicles; module 19, voyages and travels). Choose advanced search. Search by author, title, L.C. subject heading, USTC broad subject classification, publisher, publisher city, or source library. Limit by date of printing, language, or certain features within the publication (such as maps or portraits). Include variant spellings or not. Use the browse indexes for best retrieval.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
MLA Handbook Plus is the ninth edition of the Handbook with updated content, video courses, new editions of our MLA Guides, fresh examples, 100+ new citation examples - many in languages other than English, video courses on quoting and paraphrasing and on using the practice template to understand the MLA core elements, brand-new guidance on formatting headings, appendixes, and glossaries in research paper, and annotated sample papers.
Nick Hern Books Modern Plays This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 720 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
From the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Pediatric Care Online is a practical and convenient resource integrating a full range of essential pediatric-specific clinical information and premier patient education content. This innovative and dynamic tool includes a wealth of point-of-care references, tools, videos, handouts, and more.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Global Think Tanks is a collection of objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. It provides in-depth search and access to more than 3.5m reports from over 15,000 organizations.
Policy Commons: World Cities This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
World Cities preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top 100 cities by population, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South and cities with particular research importance - such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Power to the People showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries with subjects like the civil rights movement, the 1960s counterculture movement, coinciding popular cultural trends that would introduce figures like the hippie, and other social movements in U.S. history that impacted the nation.
Pragda STREAM This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains over 500 Spanish and Latin American films.
Records from Bethlem Royal Hospital, 1559-1932 This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Bethlem Royal Hospital is a psychiatric facility in London which began caring for the mentally ill in the 14th century. Contains 130,000 images of records dating from 1559-1932, including voluntary and criminal admission registers, discharge and death registers, male and female patient casebooks, minutes of the Court of Governors, and staff salary books. Handwritten items have been transcribed. Useful for studying mental health care in the past.
Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 1845-2015. Content includes as of May 2022:

The Advent: 1-Feb-1944 to 1-Nov-2014
America: 17-Apr-1909 to 21-Dec-2015
The American Theosophist: 1-Jul-1913 to1-Dec-1996, 1-Oct-1900 to 1-Oct-1914
BR: 1-Jan-1985 to 1-Oct-2005
The Catholic World: 1865 to 1-Jan-1996
Churchman's Magazine: 1867 to 1-Mar-1989
Churchman's Monthly Penny Magazine, and Guide to Christian Truth: 1846 to 1866
The Churchman’s Magazine and Wickliffe Preachers’ Messenger: 1-Jan-1914 to 1-Nov-1994
Islamic Horizons: 1-Sep-1979 to 1-Nov-2009
Islamica: 1-Jan-1993 to 1-Jul-1996
National Catholic Reporter: 28-Oct-1964 to 9-Oct-2015
The Plain Truth: 1-Feb-1934 to 1-Nov-1996
Pope Speaks: 1-Mar-1954 to 1-Nov-1992
Presbyterian Outlook: 5-Jan-1944 to 21-Dec-2015
Protestant Truth: 1-Jan-1995 to 1-Nov-2015
The Quest: 1-Jan-1988 to 1-Oct-2016
The Sikh Courier International: 1-Nov-1962 to 1-Apr-2015
The Sikh Messenger: 1-Jan-1984 to 1-Oct-2015
Sojourners Magazine: 1-Jan-1977 to 1-Nov-2015
Spiritual Life: 1-Mar-1955 to 1-Apr-2014
U.S. Catholic: 1-May-1968 to 1-Dec-2015
UU World: 1-Jan-1987 to 1-Nov-1999
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The TCG Books Play Collection will offer 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online and has launched with 110 titles. It will complete with a further 90 in Fall 2022.
Vault Career Insider This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Provides guides on industries, employers, internships, career education including resumes, interviewing, etc., and career advice including "day in the life" information. Also includes Upskill Courses that teach PowerPoint, Excel, AutoCAD, personal finance, business writing, and much more.
Water Rights & Resources This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s) HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources
HeinOnline’s Water Rights & Resources collection provides access to thousands of U.S. legal, federal, and state documents.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
With parts I & II spanning 1482-1899 and 1900-2010 respectively, the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) digital archive contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.

The archive is representative of the world’s largest private collection of maps and charts, along with atlases, globes, world gazetteers, and original manuscript mapping dating back to the 1400s that is held in the Society building in London. Some of the most influential geographers of the last two centuries have contributed to the collection.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...