Uncover the history of European colonisation across the African continent in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through the rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage presented within Africa and the New Imperialism.
Contains over 25 works by French thinkers in translation, over 130 secondary works interpreting their works, thematic articles (on French feminism, critical phenomenology, decolonizing French philosophy, etc.), and biographical articles on 20 significant individuals.
Contains Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, with entries by international authors, who provide thematic and topical entries and regional overviews. In addition, there are visual resources from U.K. Senate House Library, British Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC); 170 electronic books published by Bloomsbury, Tauris, Arc Humanities, and Amsterdam University Press; scholar contributed study resources, lesson plans, and commentaries on primary sources; and a timeline with a global focus.
Sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London: 1793-1980
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.
ClinMicroNow is a service from American Society for Microbiology Press, in partnership with Wiley, offering these clinical microbiology sources: ASM's Manual of Clinical Microbiology (MCM), Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook (CMPH), and Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases.
The first module of Colonial Caribbean documents the history of British colonies throughout the Caribbean from early settlement to the eve of the Slavery Abolition Act passed in 1833. This module features volumes from The National Archives, UK sourced from 26 different Colonial Office (CO) series (sometimes referred to as file classes) which include material related to 27 Caribbean colonies.
All volumes dated between 1624 and 1832 within these series are included in Module 1. Also featured are selected volumes from the War Office (WO) at The National Archives, UK; volumes that are dated within this time period and covering the same 27 Caribbean colonies have been included.
Dar al-Mandumah offers Arabic scholarly output since 1920, over a million Arabic items and 65K items in English, French and other languages. Covers 1,900 journals in 6 groups: AraBase for language and literature; IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law; HumanIndex for humanities; EcoLink for economic and management studies; EduSearch for education; and a Dissertations & Thesis specialized database.
EEB Collection 12 offers 1,200 titles from the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris, on topics of history and governance drawn from works published across France, from the earliest incunabula to items dating from the late 17th century.
Early European Books Collection 16 presents a generous and insightful survey of French culture during the early modern period through a selection of printed items drawn from the holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Early European Books Collection 17 follows on from the previous collection's broad survey of the early modern French cultural scene by delivering a more specific focus on the theme of Statecraft and Law.
Early European Books Collection 18 extends its coverage of content from the BnF in Paris through a selection drawn entirely from the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, a historic repository first made part of the French national library in 1934. Featuring over 900 individual items and more than 500,000 pages of content dedicated to the theme of history and chronicles, Collection 18 provides privileged access to the Arsenal's wealth of treasures in this area.
EEB Collection 19 offers 1,000 titles about travel and journeys to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and many parts of Europe. All works in the EEB series were published in 1700 or earlier.
Early Modern Books (EMB) is both a search engine for, and a full text database of, works in Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Early European Books (EEB). EEBO contains works printed in England or other English-speaking places, 1450-1700. EEB contains works printed on the Continent of Europe, 1450-1700. Full texts are only viewable for the parts of the database that we own, which is all EEBO, including EEBO TCP, but only a small amount of EEB (module 12, French history/governance; module 16, French culture in the early modern period; module 17, French statecraft and law; module 18, history and chronicles; module 19, voyages and travels). Choose advanced search. Search by author, title, L.C. subject heading, USTC broad subject classification, publisher, publisher city, or source library. Limit by date of printing, language, or certain features within the publication (such as maps or portraits). Include variant spellings or not. Use the browse indexes for best retrieval.
Contains primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world. Allows for study of personal experiences, propaganda and recruitment, visual materials, and WWI as a global conflict.
A unique 20th-century archive for students and scholars of international studies, political science and world history. Fully searchable digital edition of the United States’ principal record of political and historical open-source intelligence. Helps researchers develop a layered understanding of the Cold War, the Soviet Union, China, the Middle East and Latin America.
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:
1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland. The material comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. Read the Nature and Scope Section.
Interwar Culture Module I contains popular periodicals, and some literary writings, from the 1920s in Britain and the United States about arts, culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, current world affairs, and social and welfare issues. The materials come from the British Library, Liverpool John Moores University, Future PLC (a British media company), the Newberry Library (Chicago), and New York Public Library.
Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from world-class maritime archives and heritage collections Life at Sea takes a sociocultural approach, focusing on the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers. Through a broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, the lives of ordinary seamen, merchants, whalers and pirates can be explored. This resource offers exciting new insights into three centuries of the Anglo-American maritime world.
Literary Manuscripts Berg comes from the nineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library. While the holdings of the Berg extend from 1480 to the present day, its most extensive holdings date from the nineteenth century. This database contains writings by, and about, the following fifteen authors: Matthew Arnold, Emily Bronte, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Elliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray.
Focus of collection is to provide access to facsimile images of verses as catalogued in the University of Leeds Brotherton Library’s BCMSV database, with full texts. Content is poems from 17th and 18th centuries. Many of the Mss are miscellanies and commonplace books, not indexed previously. The Brotherton Collection was a private library assembled by Lord Brotherton of Wakefield, 1856-1930, founder of the largest chemical manufacturing company in Britain, MP, Mayor of Wakefield, and Lord Mayor of Leeds with his nephew’s wife Dorothy Una Ratcliffe.
Provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of U.K. Prime Minister Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees. Cabinet conclusions are taken by the secretary of the Cabinet or one of their assistants and consist of summaries of all discussions in Cabinet, together with a note of decisions reached. Cabinet memoranda consist of all papers circulated to members of the Cabinet and to other ministers for information or as a basis for discussion. These classes provide a distillation of the work of all the other departments of government, ranging in subject matter from agricultural policy and trade to nuclear policy and issues of international diplomacy. This collection also includes 165 files from the Prime Minister's Private Office. These provide an important supplement to the Cabinet records and cover all aspects of policymaking.
Mass Observation Online makes available original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization. Volunteers submitted material and investigators submitted material. A pioneering social research organization, Mass Observation was founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge. Their aim was to create an 'anthropology of ourselves', and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years. It is useful for studying the Great Depression, World War II, and the post-war world. Read the Nature and Scope Section.
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 720 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate these papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.
In addition, there is strong coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon’s battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform. There are also detailed assessments of all the changes brought about by the presidential election of 1972, in which Nixon beat George McGovern by a record-breaking margin and in every state but one, only to resign two years later in the face of almost certain impeachment.
“Perdita” means “lost woman” and the purpose of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The manuscripts in this electronic resource were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. Perdita Manuscripts brings together full texts of little-known material from widely scattered locations, a search engine, biographical and bibliographical resources and essays by academics. Browse alphabetically by author, document type, holding library/archive, date, language. Search by name, genre, places, first/last lines. Types of material, for example, include account books, advice, autobiography, biography, culinary writings, receipt books, diaries, medical info, prayer and religious writings, prose, speeches, travel writings, more.
Platino Educa is an innovative platform that uses cinema and other audiovisual materials as educational tools for both schools and universities. It is supported by more than 7,000 Spanish and Latin American producers and contains more than 240 pieces, with a capacity to hold more than 400,000.
Bethlem Royal Hospital is a psychiatric facility in London which began caring for the mentally ill in the 14th century. Contains 130,000 images of records dating from 1559-1932, including voluntary and criminal admission registers, discharge and death registers, male and female patient casebooks, minutes of the Court of Governors, and staff salary books. Handwritten items have been transcribed. Useful for studying mental health care in the past.
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 1845-2015. Content includes as of May 2022:
The Advent: 1-Feb-1944 to 1-Nov-2014
America: 17-Apr-1909 to 21-Dec-2015
The American Theosophist: 1-Jul-1913 to1-Dec-1996, 1-Oct-1900 to 1-Oct-1914
BR: 1-Jan-1985 to 1-Oct-2005
The Catholic World: 1865 to 1-Jan-1996
Churchman's Magazine: 1867 to 1-Mar-1989
Churchman's Monthly Penny Magazine, and Guide to Christian Truth: 1846 to 1866
The Churchman’s Magazine and Wickliffe Preachers’ Messenger: 1-Jan-1914 to 1-Nov-1994
Islamic Horizons: 1-Sep-1979 to 1-Nov-2009
Islamica: 1-Jan-1993 to 1-Jul-1996
National Catholic Reporter: 28-Oct-1964 to 9-Oct-2015
The Plain Truth: 1-Feb-1934 to 1-Nov-1996
Pope Speaks: 1-Mar-1954 to 1-Nov-1992
Presbyterian Outlook: 5-Jan-1944 to 21-Dec-2015
Protestant Truth: 1-Jan-1995 to 1-Nov-2015
The Quest: 1-Jan-1988 to 1-Oct-2016
The Sikh Courier International: 1-Nov-1962 to 1-Apr-2015
The Sikh Messenger: 1-Jan-1984 to 1-Oct-2015
Sojourners Magazine: 1-Jan-1977 to 1-Nov-2015
Spiritual Life: 1-Mar-1955 to 1-Apr-2014
U.S. Catholic: 1-May-1968 to 1-Dec-2015
UU World: 1-Jan-1987 to 1-Nov-1999
Contains manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust: notebooks, some printed annotated editions, verse manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, scrapbooks, autograph books, financial records/receipts, art works (Constable, Turner, Gainsborough, Haydon, Ruskin), and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, useful for studying interactions of key literary and political figures of the 18th and 19th centuries. Also has 18th and 19th century maps of and guidebooks to the English Lake District from the digital collection of Martin and Jean Norgate.
The TCG Books Play Collection will offer 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online and has launched with 110 titles. It will complete with a further 90 in Fall 2022.
This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early nineteenth century to the late twentieth century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including architecture, art, the British Empire, climate, customs, exploration, family life, housing, industry, language, monuments, mountains, natural history, politics and diplomacy, race, religion, science, shopping and war.
This electronic resource documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. Has searchable text of the 4 volume set Records of the Virginia Company of London, published by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 1906-1933, the complete Ferrar Papers from Magdalene College Cambridge, and previously unpublished transcriptions from the Virginia Company Archives by Dr. David Ransome. Useful for studying the Atlantic world and early colonial period, London’s economic history, tensions between Native Americans and colonists, and the demography of early Virginia.
With parts I & II spanning 1482-1899 and 1900-2010 respectively, the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) digital archive contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.
The archive is representative of the world’s largest private collection of maps and charts, along with atlases, globes, world gazetteers, and original manuscript mapping dating back to the 1400s that is held in the Society building in London. Some of the most influential geographers of the last two centuries have contributed to the collection.
This electronic resource contains a detailed finding aid of all classes of materials at the U.K. National Archives on women along with full texts of documents held there on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and British colonial territories. The full text documents cover the campaign for and granting of suffrage to women from 1903-1928 re Britain itself and 1930-1962 re her colonies. Includes also Home Office files (HO 45), a chronology, Parliamentary debates and committee reports, and information on: individual suffragettes, the ‘Cat and Mouse’ campaign, police surveillance, and prison conditions.