Michigan State University

Database List

Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...

New & Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
African Commons This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Africa Commons is a project to digitize, enrich, protect, and disseminate African cultural content. It enables African scholars to control and access the continent’s archival riches, even
those residing outside Africa. For the rest of the world, Africa Commons lets people cultivate a deeper understanding of Africa and its people.

Africa Commons: Primary Sources launches November 2022. Future modules are in development, including collections of books, historical magazines, and films.
Bloomsbury 20th-Century French Thought This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains over 25 works by French thinkers in translation, over 130 secondary works interpreting their works, thematic articles (on French feminism, critical phenomenology, decolonizing French philosophy, etc.), and biographical articles on 20 significant individuals.
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Contains Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Ages, with entries by international authors, who provide thematic and topical entries and regional overviews. In addition, there are visual resources from U.K. Senate House Library, British Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC); 170 electronic books published by Bloomsbury, Tauris, Arc Humanities, and Amsterdam University Press; scholar contributed study resources, lesson plans, and commentaries on primary sources; and a timeline with a global focus.
China Project This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s): The China Project
Access provided by the MSU Office of China Programs.

The China Project is a New York-based, China-focused news, information, and business services platform covering the business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The first module of Colonial Caribbean documents the history of British colonies throughout the Caribbean from early settlement to the eve of the Slavery Abolition Act passed in 1833. This module features volumes from The National Archives, UK sourced from 26 different Colonial Office (CO) series (sometimes referred to as file classes) which include material related to 27 Caribbean colonies.
All volumes dated between 1624 and 1832 within these series are included in Module 1. Also featured are selected volumes from the War Office (WO) at The National Archives, UK; volumes that are dated within this time period and covering the same 27 Caribbean colonies have been included.
Dar al-Mandumah This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Alternate Name(s): Mandumah
Dar al-Mandumah offers Arabic scholarly output since 1920, over a million Arabic items and 65K items in English, French and other languages. Covers 1,900 journals in 6 groups: AraBase for language and literature; IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law; HumanIndex for humanities; EcoLink for economic and management studies; EduSearch for education; and a Dissertations & Thesis specialized database.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
EEB Collection 12 offers 1,200 titles from the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris, on topics of history and governance drawn from works published across France, from the earliest incunabula to items dating from the late 17th century.
Early European Books Collection 16 presents a generous and insightful survey of French culture during the early modern period through a selection of printed items drawn from the holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Early European Books Collection 17 follows on from the previous collection's broad survey of the early modern French cultural scene by delivering a more specific focus on the theme of Statecraft and Law.
Early European Books Collection 18 extends its coverage of content from the BnF in Paris through a selection drawn entirely from the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, a historic repository first made part of the French national library in 1934. Featuring over 900 individual items and more than 500,000 pages of content dedicated to the theme of history and chronicles, Collection 18 provides privileged access to the Arsenal's wealth of treasures in this area.
EEB Collection 19 offers 1,000 titles about travel and journeys to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and many parts of Europe. All works in the EEB series were published in 1700 or earlier.
Early Modern Books This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Early Modern Books (EMB) is both a search engine for, and a full text database of, works in Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Early European Books (EEB). EEBO contains works printed in England or other English-speaking places, 1450-1700. EEB contains works printed on the Continent of Europe, 1450-1700. Full texts are only viewable for the parts of the database that we own, which is all EEBO, including EEBO TCP, but only a small amount of EEB (module 12, French history/governance; module 16, French culture in the early modern period; module 17, French statecraft and law; module 18, history and chronicles; module 19, voyages and travels). Choose advanced search. Search by author, title, L.C. subject heading, USTC broad subject classification, publisher, publisher city, or source library. Limit by date of printing, language, or certain features within the publication (such as maps or portraits). Include variant spellings or not. Use the browse indexes for best retrieval.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to is its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Also documents the history of its reception in religious, philosophical, literary, and artistic writings and in film.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
A unique 20th-century archive for students and scholars of international studies, political science and world history. Fully searchable digital edition of the United States’ principal record of political and historical open-source intelligence. Helps researchers develop a layered understanding of the Cold War, the Soviet Union, China, the Middle East and Latin America.
Interwar Culture (Module I) This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Interwar Culture Module I contains popular periodicals, and some literary writings, from the 1920s in Britain and the United States about arts, culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, current world affairs, and social and welfare issues. The materials come from the British Library, Liverpool John Moores University, Future PLC (a British media company), the Newberry Library (Chicago), and New York Public Library.
Nick Hern Books Modern Plays This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 720 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
Overton This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
**Overton is licensed by the MSU Office for Public Engagement and Scholarship for use by the campus community**
Overton is the world’s largest collection of policy documents, parliamentary transcripts, government guidance and think tank research. Includes citation data for MSU faculty in public policy documents.
Platino Educa This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
Trial
Platino Educa is an innovative platform that uses cinema and other audiovisual materials as educational tools for both schools and universities. It is supported by more than 7,000 Spanish and Latin American producers and contains more than 240 pieces, with a capacity to hold more than 400,000.
Records from Bethlem Royal Hospital, 1559-1932 This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
Bethlem Royal Hospital is a psychiatric facility in London which began caring for the mentally ill in the 14th century. Contains 130,000 images of records dating from 1559-1932, including voluntary and criminal admission registers, discharge and death registers, male and female patient casebooks, minutes of the Court of Governors, and staff salary books. Handwritten items have been transcribed. Useful for studying mental health care in the past.
Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 1845-2015. Content includes as of May 2022:

The Advent: 1-Feb-1944 to 1-Nov-2014
America: 17-Apr-1909 to 21-Dec-2015
The American Theosophist: 1-Jul-1913 to1-Dec-1996, 1-Oct-1900 to 1-Oct-1914
BR: 1-Jan-1985 to 1-Oct-2005
The Catholic World: 1865 to 1-Jan-1996
Churchman's Magazine: 1867 to 1-Mar-1989
Churchman's Monthly Penny Magazine, and Guide to Christian Truth: 1846 to 1866
The Churchman’s Magazine and Wickliffe Preachers’ Messenger: 1-Jan-1914 to 1-Nov-1994
Islamic Horizons: 1-Sep-1979 to 1-Nov-2009
Islamica: 1-Jan-1993 to 1-Jul-1996
National Catholic Reporter: 28-Oct-1964 to 9-Oct-2015
The Plain Truth: 1-Feb-1934 to 1-Nov-1996
Pope Speaks: 1-Mar-1954 to 1-Nov-1992
Presbyterian Outlook: 5-Jan-1944 to 21-Dec-2015
Protestant Truth: 1-Jan-1995 to 1-Nov-2015
The Quest: 1-Jan-1988 to 1-Oct-2016
The Sikh Courier International: 1-Nov-1962 to 1-Apr-2015
The Sikh Messenger: 1-Jan-1984 to 1-Oct-2015
Sojourners Magazine: 1-Jan-1977 to 1-Nov-2015
Spiritual Life: 1-Mar-1955 to 1-Apr-2014
U.S. Catholic: 1-May-1968 to 1-Dec-2015
UU World: 1-Jan-1987 to 1-Nov-1999
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
The TCG Books Play Collection will offer 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America. TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online and has launched with 110 titles. It will complete with a further 90 in Fall 2022.
  • This resource is available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students logged in with their NetID.
New
With parts I & II spanning 1482-1899 and 1900-2010 respectively, the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) digital archive contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports, scrapbooks, correspondence, diaries, illustrations, and sketches.

The archive is representative of the world’s largest private collection of maps and charts, along with atlases, globes, world gazetteers, and original manuscript mapping dating back to the 1400s that is held in the Society building in London. Some of the most influential geographers of the last two centuries have contributed to the collection.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Michigan State University