Explore the records of the American Committee on Africa (ACOA) which chart the organization's involvement in African liberation struggles in the twentieth century. This rich source material documents the ACOA's work to inform the American public on African issues, expand US solidarity with liberation movements throughout Africa, and work with leaders and activists across Africa to drive political change. The collection covers a wide range of intersecting themes, from social justice, civil rights, and decolonization, to US anti-apartheid movements and Africa during the Cold War.
China on Film features an exciting selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers. Through a combination of amateur films, travelogues and newsreels, this resource provides a unique perspective on both everyday life and some of the key events of modern Chinese history.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is the most comprehensive resource available for the output of the printing press in the English-speaking world before 1801.
ESTC is a bibliography that aims to record every distinct letterpress item produced during the hand-press era in these regions. It is also a union catalogue that lists copies of those items held by libraries and other owners around the world as well as links to digital reproductions where available. Begun in the late 1970s and with its roots in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad 1475-1640 (STC), ESTC currently contains about 500,000 records and more than 3 million holdings. It is co-managed by the British Library and ESTC North America (ESTC/NA).
This is a beta version, and you will continue to see changes to the database and search interface over the next few months. For feedback, comments or corrections, please contact estc@bl.uk.
This multi-part resource will contain a century’s worth of correspondence from the British legation and consulates in the cities of imperial and republican China, documenting Sino-British relations and myriad aspects of Chinese history from 1830 to 1939. Themes explored in the sources include politics, diplomacy, international relations, trade and the economy, military conflict, public health, missionaries, migration, war and revolution.
A richly-indexed, full-text database providing centralized access to centuries of Latin American and Latinx primary-source materials, previously scattered across the internet.
Latino Social and Political Culture and History: Perspectives on the Chicano Movement highlights the Chicano/a experience in the United States and a rich history and diversity of the community.
The Nineteenth Century Stage brings together primary source material from archival collections in the UK, USA and Australia to reveal the shifting and expanding theatre world of the nineteenth century. Featuring material such as prompt books, programmes, company records, photographs and playbills, users can explore the multi-faceted nature of the nineteenth-century theatre industry, the lives and careers of well-known actors and actresses and the production, performance and reception of popular plays of the time.
This collection offers a comprehensive range of primary sources on the history of Mandatory Palestine. It gives access to the principal memoranda, statements and reports published during the time of the British Mandate, from the Balfour Declaration of 1917 to the end of the Mandate in 1948. It includes the White Papers and reports relating to the Official Commissions sent to Palestine. In addition, the collection contains sources pertaining to the social, demographic and economic development of Palestine.
This collection offers source materials on the legal position of the Israeli-Occupied Territories until 1982, including military orders and regulations issued by the Israeli Government. Additional sources, such as the Ottoman laws and the Palestine Gazette, have been added to offer a wider historical context. A number of indexes, compilations and English translations makes this collection an indispensable instrument for historical and legal research.
By bridging the gap between business fundamentals and practical applications, Data Decisions helps students develop the competencies to thrive in their courses, capstones, internships, and in the competitive job market post-graduation. Each exercise, or “Data Challenge,” is designed to give students hands-on experience in applying business fundamentals and data analysis methods to real-world scenarios through text, visualizations, interactive quizzes, and downloadable quantitative and qualitative data sets.
Learn how expert practitioners handle typical issues and challenges—from evidence-based practice to diversity and inclusion—through hours of tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations. Then dive deeper into topics like multicultural counseling, teletherapy, and substance abuse treatment for a whole look at the field of counseling and psychotherapy.
Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from key archival collections, The Olympic Movement presents a documentary record of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage, researchers can chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.
Trade in Early Modern London brings together court records and financial accounts from some of London's principal livery companies, covering more than 300 years of history. The documents provide fascinating insights into the world of early modern London, through the lens of the trade guilds that dominated the economic, social, cultural, and political life of the city.
