Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Is A Primary Source?
An online tutorial about different types of primary sources
Primary Sources in Film Studies
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Other Primary Sources:
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: "(Women and Social Movements) is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The database includes more than 25,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects."
ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 400,000 images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
- Black Studies Center : Primary resources include full runs of several historical black newspapers, photographs within text of articles, streaming video, and more.
American Memory Project
Rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States - more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.