Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Latinx Resources in Special Collections: Primary Sources

Digital Archives

Chicana por mi Raza: "Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Collective is a group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. Started by Professor Maria Cotera and filmmaker Linda Garcia Merchant in 2009, CPMR has traveled to over one dozen states to collect hundreds of hours of oral histories with notable Chicanas, Latinas, and allies. The project has also scanned personal archives for preservation and access. Using largely volunteer and student labor, CPMR offers a model for grassroots digital history that encourages further research into understudied aspects of the American experience. The overarching objective of the project is to provide broad‐based public access to oral histories, material culture, correspondence, and rare out‐of‐print publications for use in both scholarly research and the classroom."

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project: "Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farmworker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement."

DPLA Primary Source Collections: The Digital Public Library offers access to primary source collections, exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by education. Primary Source collections found under the subject "Latino Americans" include: Cuban Immigration After the Revolution, 1959-1973; Puerto Rican Migration to the US; The United Farm Workers and the Delano Grape Strike; Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program.

Oral History Interviews: "The large collection of oral histories housed at the Joint Archives of Holland was initiated in 1977." You can view and download transcripts from these oral histories, including the collection on "Members of the Hispanic Community".

Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience: "The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982."

The Caribbean Memory Project: "The Caribbean Memory Project promotes public awareness and participation in the collection and circulation of everyday archives for cultural, social, and historical research."

Nuevayorkinos: "Founded and curated by Djali Alessandra Brown-Cepeda, a second-generation Dominican-American New Yorker, Nuevayorkinos is a digital archive dedicated to documenting and preserving New York City Latinx culture and history through family photographs and stories."

Microfilm Resources

Office files of the President of the United Farm Workers of America [microform] / [from the farm worker collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University]  29144 Microfilm. Collection includes: executive correspondence and meeting minutes, as well organizer's reports from the field, testimony and speeches, boycott flyers, letters from supporters and autograph seekers, songs, and prayers, communications between Chavez and his organizers, the Kennedy's, the Church hierarchy, civil rights leaders, union leaders, and Chicano militants.  To faciliate use, consult An index to the microfilm edition of Collections of the United Farm Workers of America, Series 1, Office files of the President of the United Farm Workers of America : HD 6515 .A292 U544 2010 pt.1-3

Papers of the United Farm Workers of America Work Department, 1969-1975 [microform].  29149 Microfilm  Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the United Farm Workers Work Department.  Note : Significant parts are in Spanish.  To facilitate use, consult Accompanied by, An Index to the Microfilm Edition of.....Series 2: Papers of the United Farm Workers of America Work Department 1969-1975, under call no.: HD 6515 .A292 U546 2011

Collections of the United Farm Workers of America. Series 3, Papers of the United Farm Workers Administration Department, 1960-1975 [microform].  29167 Microfilm  Collection includes: executive correspondence and meeting minutes, as well organizer's reports from the field, testimony and speeches, boycott flyers, letters from supporters and autograph seekers, songs, and prayers, communications between Chavez and his organizers, the Kennedy's, the Church hierarchy, civil rights leaders, union leaders, and Chicano militants.  Note : Significant parts of the collection are in Spanish.

National Farm Workers Association records, 1960-1967 [microform]  29146 Microfilm  Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the National Farm Workers Association.  To facilitate use, consult An index to the microfilm edition of papers of the National Farm Workers Association, 1960-1967: HD 6515 .A292 N49 2009.

Papers of the Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1966 [microform].  29145 Microfilm  Microfilmed from collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University.  To facilitate use, consult An index to the microfilm edition of Collections of the United Farm Workers of America. Papers of the Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1966 : HD 6515 .A292 A53 2009

Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1970 [microform]  29150 Microfilm Microfilmed from collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University.  To facilitate use, consult An index to the microfilm edition of Collections of the United Farm Workers of America, Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee : HD 6515 .A292 A53 2010

Michigan State University