LibGuides: AFRE 206: World Food, Population &amp; Poverty: Home

Articles - Refresher

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study. The Library Catalog contains the journal titles to all of the print and electronic format journals to which we subscribe. The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. Articles are in article databases.

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Article Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the differences between these three article types.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
If you are still uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you may look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database UlrichsWeb (Ulrich 's International Periodicals Directory). It contains subscription, publisher, ISSN and other information on 250,000 active and ceased serials worldwide: magazines, journals, annuals and more.

Catalog Search - New in 2022

Catalog search - Books, media, ebooks, journal titles

UBorrow, Remote Storage Requests, and ILL

Uborrow
If a book-type item you're looking for is not held by MSU Libraries or is checked out, try Uborrow, the consortium of Big 10 libraries. You can access Uborrow though either our catalog [Check other Libraries button] or directly at this link. If the item is there, you will be prompted to log into your Illiad account to place the request. Uborrow books generally arrive in about 5 business days, with a 12 week checkout period. One 4 week renewal is permitted. Checkout periods vary for other types of materials.
Remote Storage Requests
When an item you want has the location 'Remote Storage', use this form to have the item brought to you on campus. You will need to type or cut&paste the item's information into the form, so it may be easier to have the form and item record open ins separate tabs or windows..
ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Requests
ILLIAD is the Interlibrary loan system for articles, books, government documents, and other materials. It is used to process MARS and UBorrow requests, and for items not held at MSU Libraries. For questions about ILLIAD and placing requests, please consult the ILLIAD FAQs. First-time requesters will need to register and create a password, about a 2-3 minute process, after which you can begin immediately to place requests.
Search Other Libraries
If you want to search UBorrow or other interlibrary loan services for books, media, and other tangible items, you can search and place requests here.

Article Databases

Economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window 1969- Contains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included. Corresponding printed sources are: Journal of Economic Literature, Index of Economic Articles, and Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics This link opens in a new window AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers and Journal articles. Includes sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.

Annual Review of Resource Economics The Annual Review of Resource Economics provides authoritative critical reviews evaluating the most significant research developments in resource economics, focusing on agricultural economics, environmental economics, renewable resources, and exhaustible resources.

Agriculture & Business

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window 1910- CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window 1970- Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.

Sociology & General

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Anthropology is a core discipline covered by this database. Journal and book coverage draws significantly on the collection of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Over 50 percent of journals indexed are published outside the US or the UK; 25 percent of references are in languages other than English. Coverage dates back to 1951.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.

AFRE Dissertations and Theses

Reviewing the literature reviews and research methodology sections of dissertations and theses can be useful when starting a research project, as well as when conducting a comprehensive literature review.

MSU AFRE Graduate Research Masters Degree Plan B Papers
Accessible through AgEcon Search. 1963-present.
MSU AFRE Dissertations and Theses
Full text of all of the MSU AFRE M.S. and Ph.D. Dissertations and Theses since the program began in 2010. Also searchable by name.
MSU Agricultural Economics Dissertations and Theses
Full text of all of the MSU Agricultural Economics M.S. and Ph.D. Dissertations and Theses from 1949-2009. Also searchable by name.

Finding Media - DVDs, Streaming films, Music, etc.

MSU Libraries provide access to many purchased or leased streaming videos that are not freely available on the internet. There are records for streaming videos in the library catalog just like there are for books, DVDs and other materials.

Library Catalog for video titles
Type the video / film title into the search box and select Title from the drop-down box.
In the format column below, select the format(s) you need. Hold the CTRL key to click and select multiple options.

To limit to streaming or online videos,
Add the term 'streaming' to the search.
Add other keywords to narrow the search.
Streaming Media - Providers
This electronic resources page lists the packages of our streaming video and music titles. Click on one of the options to browse and search for the titles you like and need.
Database List: Media
This electronic resources provides descriptions of content in our many available databases.
Use the Drop-down options to find those by subject and by vendor/provider.

Agriculture & AFRE Librarian

Suzanne Teghtmeyer

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library
366 W. Circle Dr.
East Lansing, MI 48824
teghtmey@msu.edu

Orcid ID

Subjects: Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics, Agriculture

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

AFRE 206: World Food, Population & Poverty: Home