EGR 440/840 - Engineering Resources

Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Allows users to browse or search government scientific databases from 12 major science agencies using a single search.

The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.  TRAIL currently consists of over four dozen member institutions whose annual membership fees and volunteered staff time further the efforts of the project.

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. 

NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.

DTIC is run by the Department of Defense.  "DTIC's mission is "to ensure the innovation and knowledge stemming from DoD's past and current investment in science and technology (S&T) forms the building blocks for the next generation of discovery and accelerates capability to the warfighter."

NTRL is a repository of U.S government research reports.

Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.  The NTRS integrates the following three NASA collections and enables search and retrieval through a common interface: NACA Collection includes citations and reports from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics lasting from 1915 to 1958 with information dating back to 1900, the NASA Collection includes citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA in 1958 and continuing to the  present, and non-NASA materials including historical metadata records of related research topics collected from a variety of non-NASA sources that are of interest to NASA researchers.

OSTI.gov is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.  OSTI.GOV contains over 4 million records.