IAH 207 - Blackburn: Immigration Primary Sources

This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.

Immigrations, Migrations & Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996, a fully searchable digital archive, includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, and much more.

Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, and including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration.

Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement.

New! Migration to New Worlds: The Modern Era begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

World Heritage Sites: Africa is made up of 20 sub-collections and more than 57,000 objects. Selected sub-collections include the Heinz Rüther Collection from the University of Cape Town, the Kilwa Archive from the British Institute in Eastern Africa (BIEA), and the Smithsonian Heritage Collection. World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
The collection consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches. The collection’s materials were selected with the guidance of national advisory committees consisting of leading scholars, archivists, and public intellectuals in the six countries, as well as scholars from outside the region. Content contributors range from South Africa’s pioneering digitization project, Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA), to libraries and archives from Mozambique, Namibia, and beyond.

The South Asia Archive is an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences. The historical documents within the Archive are truly interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India and the wider sub-continent.

China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.