Vietnam Project Records (UA 2.9.5.5)
- During the early years of the Cold War, the United States government charged Michigan State University with helping to stabilize and develop the new nation of South Vietnam, a key American non-communist ally in Asia. From 1955 until the early 1960s, the Michigan State University Group (MSUG) carried out a wide range of projects in administrative reorganization, rural economic development, and police training in the new country. The programs did not bring stability to South Vietnam, soon to be torn apart by the Vietnam War. However, the records generated by the MSUG remain an unparalleled resource for understanding South Vietnamese society, as well as the nature of American intervention in the so-called “Third World.” (Source: http://vietnamproject.archives.msu.edu/)
- The Vietnam Project records document the administration of contracts between MSU and U.S. Foreign Operations Administration, and between MSU and the Government of Vietnam, to provide instruction and training in government and police administration. Included are correspondence, bookkeeping, and personnel files, newspaper clippings, publications, speeches, conference records, and scrapbooks.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/91
Wesley Fishel Papers (UA 17.95)
- Wesley R. Fishel (1919-1977) joined the faculty of Michigan State University in 1951, teaching political science in the College of Social Science and James Madison College until his death in 1977. Regarded as an expert on Southeast Asia affairs, he served as a close friend and consultant to Ngo Dinh Diem, President of South Vietnam in the 1950's. Fishel was best known for his role in the Michigan State University Vietnam Advisory Group (MSUG) technical assistance program (1955-1961), serving as its Chief Advisor from 1956 to 1958.
- The collection focuses primarily on materials generated during Fishel’s professional life at Michigan State University, including his work as chief advisor to the Michigan State University Advisory Group in Vietnam; his work as a professor of political science, and advisor to student activities such as the "Winds of Change" Program. Included in the collection are correspondence, reports, memoranda, and publications. Of interest are the correspondence Fishel kept during the Vietnam project, with close friend Ngo Dinh Diem, and U.S. officials concerning the political climate of Vietnam.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/238
Ralph H. Smuckler Papers (UA 17.234)
- Ralph Smuckler came to Michigan State in 1951 as a professor in the political science department. In 1955 he went to Vietnam as the research coordinator for the MSU Vietnam Project. In 1956, he returned to MSU and became assistant dean of International Programs. In 1958, he returned to Vietnam as the head of the Vietnam Project. He was acting dean of international programs from 1966 to 1967.
- Smuckler's papers consist of chronological correspondence, memos, articles, and reports related to his involvement in the MSU Vietnam Project. Smuckler's book "A University Turns to the World" is also available. His book is an autobiographical account of his career at MSU.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/571
Ralph F. Turner Papers (UA 17.149)
- Ralph F. Turner served the Michigan State University community as a Professor of Criminalistics in the School of Police Administration and Public Safety (now the School of Criminal Justice) from 1947 until retiring in 1981. From 1959 through 1961, Turner served as Chief Police Advisor to the Police and Security Services of South Vietnam under the auspices of the MSU Advisory Group
- This is a collection of the personal and professional papers of Ralph F. Turner (1917-1994), a professor of criminalistics who served the Michigan State University from 1947 through 1981. The collection reflects his work with the Criminal Justice School at MSU, and his duties as Chief Police Advisor to the Police and Security Services of South Vietnam under the auspices of the MSU Advisory Group. Materials in Series 8: Vietnam Project reflect the formal workings of the MSUG, and consequently consist largely of reports, publications, articles, briefing information, case studies, meeting minutes, notes, drafts of formal materials, and some correspondence. Also of interest is the series of correspondence for the time period Turner spent in Vietnam as Chief Police Advisor to the Police and Security Service of South Vietnam as part of the MSUG.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/294
Richard W. Lindholm Lectures (UA 17.233)
- The National Institute of Administration was a part of the Michigan State University Vietnam Project. Vietnamese civil servants were trained in modern administration techniques. The goal was to have the trainees apply their learning in order to continue the work of the project in the reorganization of the civil agencies of the government after the project ended.
- Richard W. Lindholm was an Economics professor at Michigan State University.
- This collection consists of a lecture series of Richard W. Lindholm entitled "General Considerations in the Formulation of Economic Policy." The series was given in nine parts spanning November 1956 to January 1957 at the National Institute of Administration in Saigon, Vietnam. The lectures consist of two subject types "Lectures in the Economics of Finance" and "Lectures in Money and Banking." The lectures are in English as well as Vietnamese. There are also some pages of statistics in French. Other lecturers include Bui-Van-Thinh of the National Bank of Vietnam and Pham-Kim-Ngoc of Bank Credit Commercial of Vietnam. The National Institute of Administration was a part of the MSU Vietnam Project. Vietnamese civil servants were trained in modern administration techniques. The goal was to have the trainees apply their learning in order to continue the work of the project in the reorganization of the civil agencies of the government after the project ended.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/570
John Merlin Hunter Papers (UA 17.169)
- John Merlin Hunter joined the Department of Economics at Michigan State College (now Michigan State University) in 1950. From 1955 to 1956, Hunter and his family spent a year in Saigon, Vietnam as part of the MSU Vietnam Project.
- The materials in the collection are primarily from Hunter's experiences working with universities in foreign countries for either MSU or the Ford Foundation. Series V: Vietnam Project contains several newsletters and informational items from the group American Friends of Vietnam. The items are mostly publications giving updates on the situation in Vietnam along with terminology sheets.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/349
Gilbert Jonas Collection (00166)
- Gilbert Jonas In 1958, Jonas became Executive Secretary of The American Friends of Vietnam (AFV), which publicly supported American relations with the Vietnamese government and sought to educate America about what was then a relatively unknown country. In 1964 he became Assistant Treasurer and in 1965, Executive Vice Chairman of the organization.
- Jonas was also deeply involved with the International Rescue Committee (IRC) as a member of its Executive Committee. Later, under the auspices of his own company, the Gilbert Jonas Company, he directed fund raising and public relations for the IRC. During this period he became involved with the Roger Baldwin Foundation, the non-profit arm of the American Civil Liberties Union. His work for the Foundation included fund-raising and publicity.
- The Gilbert Jonas Collection covers the years 1852-1972, with the bulk of the materials, which consist of administrative working papers and newspaper clippings, dating 1955-1969. From 1956 to 1959, Jonas held various positions in organizations concentrating on international affairs, particularly Vietnam. In 1958, Jonas became Executive Secretary of the American Friends of Vietnam (AFV), which publicly supported American relations with the Vietnamese government and sought to educate America about Vietnam. He was also deeply involved with the International Rescue Committee (IRC), the Roger Baldwin Foundation, and the Peace Corps. The collection is divided into five series: 1) International Rescue Committee (1955-1969); 2) American Friends of Vietnam (1957-1967); 3) American Civil Liberties Union (1962-1972); 4) Vietnam Source Material File (1959-1966); and 5) Source Materials (1852-1969).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1182
John A. Hannah Papers (UA 2.1.12)
- John A. Hannah was the twelfth president of Michigan State University. He served in this capacity from July 1, 1941 to April 1969. During the course of his tenure, he also served the U.S. Government as Assistant Secretary of Defense, 1953-1954; and Chairperson of the Commission on Civil Rights, 1957-1964. The content of his collection reflects much of what was happening at the University during his time as president. While not a major portion of his papers, there are several folders of materials, including photos, related to the Vietnam Project. There are also folders relating to the article published in Ramparts and Hannah’s reaction to it.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/15
Stanley Andrews Papers (UA 17.268)
- Stanley Andrews came to MSU in 1953 to be the director of the National Project in Agricultural Communications, a project partially funded by the Kellogg Foundation. He held that position until 1960 when he was named consultant to international programs at MSU. Included in his collection is a U.S. International Cooperation Administration report entitled, “Comments on Certain Parts of the Programs of the International Cooperation Administration and the Government of South Vietnam.”
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/158
Harry H. Kimber Papers (UA 17.27)
- Harry Kimber came to Michigan State University in 1932 as an instructor, then became professor and head of the Department of Civilization in 1944. He became head of the Social Science Division in 1945. From 1964 until 1970, he served as professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Religion Department.
- The collection contains materials relate to MSU and Vietnam. There are notes, memoranda, and printed materials relating to the May 1957 visit of Ngo Dinh Diem, President of the Republic of Vietnam. The Vietnam materials also contain a copy of the controversial April 1966 issue of Ramparts, featuring Madame Nhu on the cover in an MSU sweater. There are also newspaper clippings about the Ramparts article.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/167
Walter Adams Papers (UA 2.1.13)
- Walter Adams was Michigan State University's 13th president. Prior to his acceptance of the post, Adams was a professor of economics at MSU. Adams was asked to succeed President John A. Hannah. Adams assumed presidency on April 1, 1969, and vacated the office on January 1, 1970. Adams’ papers relate to his involvement in the Vietnam Moratorium that took place on October 15, 1969. Included are memos, policy statements, and the speech that Adams gave at the Moratorium.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/78
