William James Beal Papers
- UA 17.4
- 1 cubic foot
- The William J. Beal Papers consist of correspondence, publications, and materials relating to his work as a student at Harvard University. The material from Beal's years at Harvard includes course notes on anatomy, geology and ornithology as well as a detailed journal which Beal wrote in 1862. This journal includes comments on individuals as well as events of the period.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/163
William A. Kelly Papers
- UA 17.174
- 0.1 cubic feet
- This collection contains a “Laboratory Manual for Historical Geology”, written by William Kelly. The manual is made up of nine parts: fossil preservation methods, fossil diagrams, directions for studying unknown specimens, exercise worksheets, fossil collection directions, outline of a Grand Ledge field excursion, a resume of Michigan’s historical geology, and a glossary.
- William Kelly began teaching at Michigan State College (now Michigan State University) in January of 1926 in the field of geology. He was appointed full professor in July of 1944. Before his career at MSU he received his B.A. and M.A. from the University of Alberta and received his Ph.D. from Princeton University, where he taught until 1926. He retired from MSU in July, 1961.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1902
Joseph W. Stack Papers
- UA 17.44
- 3 cubic feet
- Materials found in the collection include maps, bird banding records, student reports and papers, manuscripts, publications, and WKAR radio scripts.
- Joseph W. Stack came to Michigan Agricultural College (now Michigan State University) in 1915 as an instructor in zoology, physiology, and geology. In 1924 he began serving as Curator of the Museum and was appointed its Director in 1941. In 1942 the Department of Zoology promoted him to full professor. With his particular area of interest centering on ornithology and bird banding, Stack continued the bird banding station started at MAC in 1923. He was also involved in the Works Progress Administration Museum Project and the Committee to Reorganize the Curriculum.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1932
Clarence Suelter Collection
- UA 17.227
- 1 cubic foot
- The collection contains information about different science programs at MSU compiled Clarence Suelter. Some of the materials are photocopies. There is substantial information relating to Robert C. Kedzie, as well as historical overviews of many natural science programs.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/543
