Skip to Main Content
Michigan State University

REO and the Automobile Industry at MSU Archives & Historical Collections: Archival Collections - Personal Papers/Individual Collections

Archival Collections - Personal Papers/Individual Collections

Peter Berg papers (UA 10.3.106), 1983

  • 1 folder
  • This collection consists of a paper titled "Welfare Capitalism and Worker Response at the REO Motor Car Company, 1916-1929," which was written by Peter Berg for History 901 at Michigan State University in June 1983. The paper discusses the welfare capitalism program at the REO Motor Car Company of Lansing, Michigan.
  • REO Motor Car Company of Lansing, Michigan, was founded by R.E. Olds. The welfare capitalism program was established there by 1919 and flourished throughout the 1920s. Peter Berg was a doctoral student at Michigan State University at the time that he wrote the paper.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1318

Lisa Gerber and Mojden Hojjati papers (UA 10.3.49), 1982

  • 1 folder
  • This collection consists of a student paper written by Gerber and Hojjati entitled "Industrial Patriotism: Americanization in the REO Motor Company." They argue that the paternalistic program of the REO Company was aimed at making immigrants better citizens, whereas the program of the Ford Motor Company was directed at increasing production.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1046

Jacqueline D. Holecek papers (UA 10.3.154), 1994 – 1995

  • 1 folder
  • The collection consists of a paper written by Jacqueline Holecek for a class assignment titled "Archival Research in the R.E. Olds Mansion in Lansing, Michigan" (1995).  The paper traces the history of the Olds family and their mansion.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/446

Lansing Magazine publication (UA 28.11), 1979

  • 1 folder
  • This collection consists of the January/February issue of Lansing Magazine. The magazine contains two articles on Ransom E. Olds: "How Lansing Lost and Regained Oldsmobile," and "The Incredible Saga of How R.E. Olds Got the Boot."
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1584

Walter Neller Family papers (UA 10.3.426), 1924 – 1991

  • 2 scrapbooks
  • This collection contains thirteen scrapbooks which span from 1924 to 1991. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings, correspondence and memorabilia highlighting the Neller's social life in Lansing and East Lansing. There is also information on the R.E. Olds Museum in Scrapbooks 9 and 12.
  • Walter H. Neller founded the Walter Neller Company, a real estate company in the Lansing, Michigan area. Walter Neller’s son, Richard, conceptualized the R. E. Olds Museum.  Richard’s wife, Susan, was director of the museum in the 1980s.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/992

Florine Folks Plumb papers (UA 10.3.198), 1910 – 1991

  • 1 folder
  • The collection consists of the poem "The 25th Anniversary of 4-H Clubs" written in 1940 by Plumb and newspaper and magazine articles from 1940, 1942, 1961, and 1983 about her being judged best in a contest and winning an REO touring car.
  • Florine Folks Plumb was the daughter of William Folks from Hanover, Michigan. At age 11, she entered the corn she grew in a judging contest held at Michigan Agricultural College (now Michigan State University). Her corn took first prize and she won a REO touring car. She graduated from Michigan Agricultural College in 1920. She married Harold J. Plumb.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/504

Jon L. Young reminiscences (UA 10.3.116), 1986

  • 3 folders
  • This collection consists of Jon L. Young's reminiscences, based on diaries he kept as a student at Michigan State College from 1931-1935. Young talks about his family, who lived in Lansing, and the impact of the Depression, especially on his father, an employee of the REO Motor Car Company. Young also analyzes the unsettled international events of the 1930s.
  • Jon L. Young graduated from Michigan State College (now Michigan State University) with a bachelor's degree in Liberal Arts in 1935. He was a member of ROTC and the International Relations Club.
  • Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1716