Animal Health Diagnostic Laboratory records (UA 16.49), 1982
Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostic Program records (UA 16.80), 1952-1971
- 0.1 cu. ft.
- The collection consists of an informational brochure and a newsletter. Annual Reports are stored separately for 1961 – 1963, 1965 – 1969, and 1971. These reports contain information on enrollment, curriculum and general plans and activities of the program.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1880
Clinical Center records (UA 16.23), 1974-1999
- 4 folders
- This record group includes minutes from the animal use and care committee, brochures, a report from the planning period, and a brief history. Of particular interest is the report from the planning as it includes information on clinical education and sites, requirements, services and space information. Also included in its appendix is a history of medical programs at MSU.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/2121
College of Human Ecology records (UA 15.3), 1881-1970
- 14 cu. ft., 3 volumes
- The collection consists largely of course outlines for the college's departments and previous divisions; records pertaining to research, finance, organizations, committees; Home Management materials (guest books, diaries, scrapbooks): correspondence of the deans; meeting minutes (both faculty and graduate faculty); various student study data; and annual reports (1897-1971). The nursing program began in this college in 1925.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/16
College of Human Medicine records (UA 15.13), 1946-1984
- 48 cu. ft.
- Since it officially began operations in 1964, the College of Human Medicine has been responsible to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Administration. It had its roots in the 1950s concern that Michigan needed more physicians, which led the 1961 formation of the institute of Biology and Medicine to coordinate existing programs in various sciences, the Veterinary school, and anticipated human medicine programs. It was strongly influenced by the humanistic ideals of the 1960s and its progressive first Dean, Andrew Hunt. The first two-year pre-clinical-program students were admitted in 1966, and first four-year program was begun in 1970.
- College of Human Medicine records give a broad and comprehensive picture of the development of the College. Includes correspondence, speeches, and miscellaneous papers of Deans Andrew Hunt (1946-1972) and Donald Weston (1964-1983), Assistant Dean James Lyons (1959-1981), and Associate Deans John Howell (1954-1973) and Arthur Kohrman (1968-1981); papers and reports of various staff and search committees, the Curriculum Committee, the Admissions Committee, and other advisory groups and council within CHM (1964-1984); results of international evaluations and accreditation reports, annual evaluation reports, and the Medical Education Data Bases (1964-1978); and miscellaneous budget papers (1975-1981). Also contains materials pertaining to the Detroit Area Cancer Center set up by CHM (1975-1977); materials on the Lansing Regional program of the Michigan Association for Regional Medical Programs (1964-1973); miscellaneous material on Health Central, the Upper Peninsula Project; Track I and II class information, and other reports and studies; and material generated by research toward writing a history of the College. The last series contains oral histories and interview transcripts, news clipping files, and some papers of Vice President Milton E. Muelder on the establishment of a medical school (1947-1976).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/87
College of Natural Science records (UA 15.10), 1961-1967
- 1 cu. ft., 2 Volumes
- Since beginning operations in 1962, the Natural Science College has reported to the Provost. Predecessor units include the Applied Science Division (1921-1944), and the Science and Arts College (1944-1962), which included Biological Sciences and Mathematics and Physical Science Divisions. The college administers various science departments. It dissolved into the Center for Integrative Studies in General Science in 1989.
- Records of the College of Natural Science include faculty and fellowship applications (1964), records pertaining to the National Science Foundation (1964-1965), various search committee records, materials on science education in general, nursing and medical school information, papers pertaining to Sigma Xi Science Honorary (1961-1967), and miscellaneous reports and correspondence.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/166
College of Nursing records (UA 16.88), 1951-2000
- 3.2 cu. ft.
- The records consist of degree program and department brochures, department progress report, department self- evaluation, Report of the Student Health Service and Teaching Research Hospital, report on the Michigan State University Medical Center, and Minority Project in Nursing Final Report. Also included is a Historical Development of the MSU School of Nursing by Florence Kempf and early handout on nursing procedures.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/347
College of Osteopathic Medicine records (UA 15.19), 1969-2001
- 16 cu. ft.
- This collection is divided into eight series. Series 1 is the Michigan College of Osteopathic Medicine and includes the earliest records in the formation of Michigan’s osteopathic college (1962 – 1975). Items of particular note are the annual reports, minutes and reports from the board of trustees, clippings and reports related to the creation of the college and its transfer to Michigan State University and MCOM publications. Series 2 is the Michigan Osteopathic College Foundation (1967 – 2001). The series currently consists of 8 folders. Records include Annual Ball materials (1975 – 2001), annual report, financial records, and minutes. Series 3 is the COM Alumni Association (1976 – 1999) which was founded in 1974. The series currently consists of 12 folders that include events, correspondence, and annual reports (1980 – 1987). Series 4 is the College of Osteopathic Medicine records (1959 – 2009) and contains the bulk of the material in this collection. Important to this record set are the materials documenting the college’s policies, student degree fulfillment, and history. Meeting materials and correspondence make up another important part of this record set and include the Council of Affiliated Hospitals, Michigan Center for Osteopathic Education (1972 – 1983), American Osteopathic Association, and other committees (postdoctoral training, clinical education, curriculum changes, OMSPLAN, advisory committee, and osteopathic medical education). There are also records related to interaction and visits to affiliated hospitals including Bay Osteopathic, Botsford General, Zieger Osteopathic, Detroit Osteopathic, Flint Osteopathic, Grand Rapids Osteopathic, Lansing General, Martin Place, Mt. Clemens General, Oakland General, Pontiac Osteopathic, Riverside Osteopathic, Saginaw Osteopathic, and Traverse City Osteopathic. Published materials include brochures, bulletins, catalogs, programs, studies, and reports. Specific items of note are a student prepared history of the creation of the college and a memo regarding the conversion of Fee Hall into an instructional medical facility. Series 5 is the Unit III Clinical Training records of COM (1974 – 1983). These include protocols (1974 – 1982), guidebooks (1970 – 1971), course materials, and curriculum planning. Series 6 is Academic Program Planning and Review (APP&R) records of COM (1987 – 2000). Series 7 is Volumes (1969 – 1971). The volumes consist of Course Objective Guidelines (1970 - 1971), Junior Programs (1970 - 1971), Curriculum (1969 – 1970), and Academic Records (1969 – 1971) [RESTRICTED ACCESS]. Series 8 is the Audio / Visual materials of COM (1975 – 1981). This currently consists of audio cassettes and black and white photographic prints. The audio cassettes are recordings of the groundbreaking ceremony for the MCOM building and the 1975 Hooding and Reception. Photographs are from Hooding and Receptions (1973 – 1979) and people associated with the college.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/288
College of Veterinary Medicine records (UA 15.4), 1853-2004
- 2 cu. ft.
- The first course in veterinary medicine was taught at Michigan State University in 1884, although the Veterinary Division was not officially authorized until 1909. In 1910, the Division became the Veterinary Science/ Veterinary Medicine Division, and from 1944 to 1955, it was the School of Veterinary Medicine. It became the Veterinary Medicine College in 1956, the same year in which its administrative responsibility was shifted from the President to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs.
- Records of the College of Veterinary Medicine include reports, minutes, various brochures and monographs, and ledgers from the earliest days of the College. These materials are arranged alphabetically by subject. Also included are six volumes listing clinic cases that were treated at MSU. These volumes are listed by case number and restart numbering every fiscal year.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/62
Department of Anthropology records (UA 16.13), 1962-1971
- 5 cu. ft.
- Records of the Anthropology Department include: annual reports, 1965-1969; course examinations, 1964-1968; budgets, 1964-1968; faculty records, 1963-1971; student records, 1963-1969; financial records, 1964-1968; reports, student letters; M.S.U. statement of accounts, 1964-1969. Collection also includes records of the College of Human Medicine (1964-1969): minutes, memoranda and agendas for the Advisory Committee, Executive Committee, Curriculum Committee, Faculty Committee and Committee on Admissions. Note: Anthropology Department was established in 1964. It was previously part of the Sociology and Anthropology Department.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/389
Department of Biochemistry records (UA 16.18), 1962-1966
- 3 folders
- When it was founded in 1961, the Biochemistry Department was jointly responsible to the Natural Science College and the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. After a brief period administered by the Human Medicine College (1964-1971) the Department has reported to the College of Osteopathic Medicine since 1971.
- Records of the Biochemistry Department consist of undergraduate program descriptions (1966), correspondence and a report (1962) and miscellaneous pamphlets.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/688
Department of Biomechanics records (UA 16.119), 1987
Department of Biophysics records (UA 16.20), 1962-1968
- 1 folder
- During its period of operations (1962-1981), the Biophysics Department was administered jointly by the Colleges of Natural Science and Human Medicine.
- Records of the Biophysics Department consist of one folder of information on the department. (n.d.)
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1870
Department of Family Medicine records (UA 16.168), 1988-2007
Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences Annual reports (UA 16.72), 1969-1971
- 6 folders
- The Large Animal Clinical Sciences Department Collection consists of course information about surgery, medicine, and reproduction and disease in large animals and annual reports. There is also a small booklet with information on the Matilda R. Wilson Chair.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1877
Department of Medicine records (UA 16.81), 1956-2008
- 11 folders
- This record group consists of 10 folders arranged chronologically. Folders 1 – 8 contain material from 1956 – 1960 that relate to the establishment of the medical college at MSU. Of particular interest on this is the “Proposal for Establishment of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences at Michigan State University” in folder 6. The other 2 folders include a program for Advanced Cardiac Life Support training and brochures for a study abroad program and a workshop. Annual reports are available separately (1967 – 1969, 2005 – 2007).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/829
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics records (UA 16.84), 1904-1987
- 2.1 cu. ft., 1 folder
- This collection consists of administrative, curricular, and research papers of the Department of Microbiology from its beginnings at the beginning of 1900 through 1987. Administrative files include records from the Advisory Committee (1967–1970), Executive Committee (1965–1969), Curriculum Committee (1964–1970), Graduate Committee (1964–1969), Correspondence (1967–1971), Faculty Meetings (1965–1970), Annual Reports of faculty (1952–1968), and Staff Memorandums (1967–1968). Research papers include Charles E. Marshall’s “Bacteriology and the Bacteriological Laboratory” (1904) and Phillip A. Hawkins’ “Introduction to Parasitology” (1944). There is also “The History of Bacteriology in Michigan” by A. S. Schlingman (1957). Annual reports of the department are available for 1901–1938, 1955–1957, and 1959–1971.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/720
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology records (UA 16.133), 2007-2008
Department of Osteopathic Medicine records (UA 16.74), 1987
Department of Pathology records (UA 16.92), 1944-1982
Department of Pediatrics records (UA 16.153), 1985-1987
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology records (UA 16.93), 1966-1973
Department of Physiology records (UA 16.96), 1960-2021
- .2 cu. ft.
- The Physiology Department was established in 1923 and focused on agricultural, veterinary and general science. The College of Human Medicine was created in 1964 which led to more positions in the Physiology Department as courses were offered in both animal and human subjects.
- Records consist of a five year plan for the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology outlining the current and future program and research for 1960. Also included is "A Brief Historical Account of Research in the Comparative Physiology Laboratory during 1954-1987" by Paul O. Fromm. The photographs in the collection consist of images of graduate students, faculty, and staff from the Comparative Physiology Laboratory. The collection also includes published annual reports from 1924-1935 and unpublished from 1953-1971.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://archive.lib.msu.edu/uahc/FindingAids/ua16-96.pdf
Department of Psychiatry records (UA 16.100), 1968-2003
- 3 cu. ft.
- The Department of Psychiatry records consists of one folder containing a program booklet for the residency program at the Pontiac State Hospital and an unpublished annual report for 1968. Also included are materials related to the AIDS Education and Training Center. The materials include publications about ministry and AIDS, promotional handouts, health and safe sex kits, and t-shirts (the majority of these materials was not created by Michigan State University).
- Finding aid to the collection: https://archive.lib.msu.edu/uahc/FindingAids/ua16-100.html
Health promotion Program records (UA 16.88.1), 1981-2009
- .5 cu. ft.
- The collection consists of clippings, correspondence, grant applications, meeting minutes, publications, and other administrative records. The minutes are from the Health Promotion Policy Task Force and the Health Promotion Task Force (1983 – 1984). The minutes and correspondence include information regarding the creation of the program and its relationship with the Kellogg Foundation and the university administration.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/462
Laboratory Animal Care Resources records (UA 16.71), 1969-2012
Office of Medical Education Research and Development Annual reports (UA 16.79), 1967-1983
- .25 cu. ft.
- This record group consists of annual reports (1967 – 1969) and publications of OMERAD. The reports contain information on staff, publications, activities, and research. Publications consist of brochures, newsletters, and a paper by Dr. Donald Gragg.
- Finding aid to the collection: https://findingaids.lib.msu.edu/repositories/2/resources/1879
Department of Surgery records (UA 16.131), 1994-2007
