Global Health including ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowGlobal Health is a specialist international public health database. It includes significant unique content particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology. It contains abstracts from international publications and the Global Health Archive 1912-1983.
International Bibliography of the Social SciencesThis link opens in a new windowAnthropology is a core discipline covered by this database. Journal and book coverage draws significantly on the collection of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Over 50 percent of journals indexed are published outside the US or the UK; 25 percent of references are in languages other than English. Coverage dates back to 1951.
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowContains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new window1963- (abstracts from 1974-)
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals;
- Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Click on the dropdown menu on the left, which says "All Subjects."
Select the subject you're interested in. (Note: If you want to try a second subject, go back to the original Databases page and use the dropdown menu again. If you are looking at the Biological Sciences list, for example, using the dropdown menu from that page will only show you databases that appear in that list).
Tips for Searching Databases with Keywords
Combine two different topics with AND (always capitalize). This means you want only articles where BOTH of those topics appear. For example: football AND concussion.
Combine synonyms by putting them in parentheses and using OR (always capitalize). This means that you want an article where at least one of these terms appear, you don't care which. For example: (football OR NFL) AND concussion
Put phrases in quotes (for example, "breast cancer").
If you're getting a lot of irrelevant material, see if you can make your terms more specific.
Click on the "Get it at MSU" button or the PDF link to get full text.
Use filters on the left side of the screen to limit your search. Usually there's a date filter that you can use to only see results for the last 5 years.
