Data, Statistics, & Public Opinion - PLS 392 - Political Corruption - LibGuides at Michigan State University Libraries

Data & Statistical Resources

Worldwide Governance Indicators
The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories over the period 1996–2021, for six dimensions of governance:
Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence/Terrorism, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, and Control of Corruption

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.
OECD iLibrary Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and much more.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Includes ProQuest Statistical Datasets and the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.
UNData This link opens in a new window
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

World Regions

Global Barometer
Global Barometer Surveys (GBS) is the first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world. It provides independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.
Afrobarometer
A pan-African series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, and society.
African Development Bank
"The overarching objective of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction."

African Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Provides the most detailed collection of development data on Africa.

Arab Barometer
Asian Barometer
The Asia Foundation
A nonprofit international development organization that produces surveys and publications for the following countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pacific Island Nations, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Vietnam.
Asian Development Bank
A regional development bank. Includes publications.
Canadian Opinion Research Archive
Provides commercial and independent surveys to the academic, research and journalistic communities. Founded in 1992, CORA contains hundreds of surveys including thousands of discrete items collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s.
Eurasia Barometer
Eurobarometer
A series of public opinion surveys conducted regularly on behalf of the European Commission since 1973. These surveys address a wide variety of topical issues relating to the European Union throughout its member states
European Values Study
Covers a wide range of human values. The main topics concern family, work, environment, perceptions of life, politics and society, religion and morality, national identity.
Latinobarometer
An annual public opinion survey, conducted in 18 countries in Latin America, representing more than 400 million people.
Russia Public Opinion Research Center
Conducts weekly nationwide representative polls of the urban and rural populations through the extensive network of its regional branches and partner organizations situated in almost all areas of Russia.

Public Opinion Resources

Pew Global Attitudes & Trends
A series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 175,000 interviews in 55 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive collection of public opinion, from the United States and more than 80 other countries. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues.
Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American public opinion published in a book format (American Public Opinion Index). Over the years the database expanded to include surveys in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia, in an electronic format.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data from the Gallup World Poll.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

PLS 392 - Political Corruption

Data & Statistical Resources

World Regions

Public Opinion Resources