LibGuides: REL 150 Honors Option: Exploring Biblical Literature (Dr. Frilingos): Home

Reference Sources

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (Online)
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (Print) Main Library Reference 1 East BS440 .A54 1992
Women in Scripture: A Dictionary of Named and Unnamed Women in the Hebrew Bible, Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books, and the New Testament (Print)
Main Library Reference 1E BS575 .W93 2000

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception Online
Covers the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to is its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Also documents the history of its reception in religious, philosophical, literary, and artistic writings and in film.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Biblical Studies module will lead to "best" books and articles on many biblical topics

Selected Commentaries (Online)

Selected Commentaries (Print)

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS
It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics.
Old Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts covers journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies from over 450 journals. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
BAS Library
BAS Library, from the Biblical Archaeology Society, contains full text access to all issues, back to 1975, of the periodical Biblical Archaeology Review. This periodical covers both the Old and New Testaments of the Bible and presents the latest discoveries and controversies in Biblical archaeology visually, with maps and diagrams, in articles by top scholars, leading researchers, and world-renowned experts in this field, in a nonsectarian way.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish and Israel Studies. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles, mostly from the Israel National Library.

Art Full Text with Art Index Retrospective
1929-
Indexes over 300 journals covering advertising art; antiques; archaeology; architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art; crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures; museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television; textiles; and video.

Email Me

Contact:

366 W. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
(Main Library E221)

Subjects: Jewish Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religion