Researching MSU Department Histories: Additional Sources

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees Minutes are available online.  The website only supports limited searching. If you know significant dates related to your department, check the meeting dates both before and after that date.

Supplementary information about the Board meetings can be found in the MSU Board of Trustees records,  UA 1 State Board of Agriculture / Board of Trustee records

Campus maps

Campus maps can be found in the Map Library in the Main Library.

Campus maps can also be found in some MSU publications such including university catalogs and academic program volumes.

Some maps can also be found on the MSU Archives Flickr page and image website and can be found by using the search term "maps."

The map collection at the MSU Archives contains map for 1857-2016.

MAC Record and MSC Record – (Alumni magazine) - 1896-1955, campus wide events and alumni updates

Select copies are online

Copies in the Main Library

• M.A.C.Record 1896-1925

• M.S.C. Record 1925-1955

Copies at the MSU Archives

• MAC and MSC Record, Serial 48, UA 10.2, 1896-1955

The Spartan (formerly called the Alumni Magazine)

Copies in the Main Library

• The Michigan State University Magazine, 1955-1962

• The Michigan State University Alumni Magazine, 1962-1967

• Michigan State University Alumni Association Magazine, 1967-1981

• MSU Alumni Magazine, 1982-2017

• Spartan, 2017-

Copies at the MSU Archives

• MSU Alumni Magazine/ Spartan Serial 18, UA 10.2,  1955-current

MSU News Bulletin – 1969-2007, campus wide events and faculty news

Issues online for 1969-1973

Copies in the Main Library

• MSU Faculty News, 1969-1971

• MSU News-Bulletin, 1971-2009

Copies at the MSU Archives

• MSU News Bulletin Serial 45, UA 8.1, 1969-2009

The Holcad - Student newspaper with campus wide news, 1909-1925

Copies in the Main Library, 1909-1925

Copies at the MSU Archives, 1909-1925

State News, campus student newspaper –  1925-current

Digital versions for 1925-1980

Microfilm in the Main Library

Copies at the MSU Archives

Yearbooks - Yearbooks may not exists for all early years, and may vary in format from year to year

Digitized yearbooks can be viewed here and here.

Copies in the Main Library (dates for the library catalog records may refer to the class who published the volume rather than actual publication date)

• The Harrow, 1887-1889
• Heliostat, 1896
• Glück-auf, 1905
• Jubilee Wolverine, 1908
• Wolverine, 1910-1975 (the name is in reference to the state animal)
• Red Cedar Log ,1976-1992
• Red Cedar Annual, 1993-1995
• Red Cedar Log, 1996-current

Copies at the MSU Archives

• Class Albums, 1877, 1885-1888, 1890, 1893, 1900
• Yearbooks, 1887-1889, 1896, 1900, 1904, 1907, 1910-current