Trombone

Aaron Horne provides the most comprehensive guide to brass music written by black composers. He covers composers from around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries. Included in the book is biographical information; commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each piece; bibliographical sources; and an index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensemble. This is the fourth volume in Aaron Horne's monumental effort to provide the most comprehensive guide to music composed by black composers. In this volume he covers composers from around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries, including William Grant Still, Ulysses Kay, Anthony Davis, John Coltrane, and other major figures from the world of classical, jazz, and popular music. The main body of the book is divided into sections devoted to African, African American, Afro-European, and Afro-Latino composers. Within each section composers are arranged alphabetically; each entry provides biographical information as well as commission, duration, instrumentation, date of publication, premiere, publisher, discography for each composition. Backmatter includes a Brass Music Index which groups the music by numbers, medium, and ensembles; a title index; discography; and bibliography. As with the earlier volumes, this is an essential reference tool for anyone with an interest in researching and/or performing the music of black composers.

A History of the Trombone, the first title in the new series American Wind Band, is a comprehensive account of the development of the trombone from its initial form as a 14th-century Medieval trumpet to its alterations in the 15th century; from its marginalized use in a particular Renaissance ensemble to its acceptance in various kinds of artistic and popular music in the 19th and 20th centuries. David M. Guion accesses new and important primary source materials to present the full sweep of the instrument's history, placing particular emphasis on the people who played the instrument, the music they performed, and the relevant cultural contexts. After a general overview, the material is presented in two main sections: the first traces the development of the trombone itself and examines the literature written about it, and the second investigates the history of performance on the instrument--the ensembles it participated in, the occasions in which it took part, the people who played it, and the social, intellectual, political, economic, and technological forces that impinged on that history. Guion analyzes the trombone's place in countries all over the world and in many styles of music, such as art, opera, popular, and world music. An appendix of transcriptions of selected primary source documents, including translations, and a comprehensive bibliography round out this important reference. Fully illustrated with more than 80 images, A History of the Trombone appeals not just to trombonists but to students, scholars, and fans of all musical instruments.

The trombone has frequently been relegated to the status of footnotes and afterthoughts in much of the research on brass instruments. This book is designed to feature the trombone, its history, music, performers, performance practices (including jazz performance), instruments and equipment, and pedagogical topics that are of concern to those who teach the instrument. The book may be used by trombonists and the broader research community who are interested in finding material both common and arcane about the trombone. The information may be perused at three levels: browsing through the broad classifications of each chapter; checking for cross-listings in the annotations; and using the index which is keyed to the author, subject, and keyword line at the end of each annotation. The book also includes four appendixes: the first identifies relevant periodicals and journals; the second lists obituaries of trombonists not included in biographical citations; the third lists presidents of the International Trombone Association; the fourth lists recipients of the ITA Award.

Developing Expression in Brass Performance and Teaching helps university music teachers, high school band directors, private teachers, and students develop a vibrant and flexible approach to brass teaching and performance that keeps musical expression central to the learning process. Strategies for teaching both group and applied lessons will help instructors develop more expressive use of articulation, flexibility in sound production, and how to play with better intonation. The author shares strategies from today's best brass instrument performers and teachers for developing creativity and making musical expression central to practicing and performing. These concepts presented are taken from over thirty years of experience with musicians like Wynton Marsalis, Barbara Butler, Charles Geyer, Donald Hunsberger, Leonard Candelaria, John Haynie, Bryan Goff, members of the Chicago Symphony and New York Philharmonic and from leading music schools such as the Eastman School of Music, The University of North Texas and The Florida State University. The combination of philosophy, pedagogy, and common sense methods for learning will ignite both musicians and budding musicians to inspired teaching and playing.

To breathe well means to breathe free of tension, and trombonists who breathe well create a resonant tone quality. The Breathing Book provides concise information about breathing alongside etudes and activities encouraging application of this knowledge in musically meaningful ways. The Breathing Book teaches the truth about breathing, establishing a reliable foundation for improved resonance, articulation, endurance, and tone quality.

(Brass). Over 200 carefully graded sight-reading pieces and exercises in a range of musical styles. Includes solos, duets and pieces with piano accompaniment. Suitable for beginning to advanced level students.