ANP 236: Introduction to Peace and Justice Studies: Miscellaneous Resources

The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.

South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives tell this remarkable story.

The majority of the collection chronicles Chicago area activists’ work in bringing an end to the apartheid system of government in Southern and South Africa. Some of these local organizations also fought other social issues, so there is a small amount of material in the collection not directly related to the anti-apartheid movement, which includes topics such as geopolitics, public health and safety, and immigration matters; most of these materials are found in the digitized poster collection and related individual collections.

This poster collection represents a variety of social, political, and cultural issues, including public health, education, liberation and independence, political campaigns, the anti-apartheid movement, Biafra, Darfur, economics, art, publishing, and music. Through these collections, scholars and students can explore how institutions and organizations communicated with African populations from the mid 19th century through the present day.

Pan-African, non-partisan research network conducting public attitude surveys.

The Maps & Geospatial Services offers services relating to maps, atlases, and geospatial information science (GIS) technology. All students, staff, faculty, and community members can visit the Map Library to explore our paper and digital collections. Our staff are available for class visits and individualized consultations.

The BBC's Africa news service.

The Genocide Archive of Rwanda is a project initiated by the Aegis Trust in collaboration with Rwanda’s National Commission for the fight against Genocide (CNLG) to document and preserve the memory of the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda.