HST 375: Modern South Asia

The South Asia Open Archives collection contains over thirty thousand digitized print items. These items include newspapers, serials, and journals; colonial reports, censuses, and government documents; works of art, history, and literature; studies in economics, politics, and social structure; reference works and dictionaries. The archive covers printed materials from the late-eighteenth and into the twenty-first century.

The South Asian Canadian Digital Archive (SACDA), an initiative of the South Asian Studies Institute at the University of the Fraser Valley, is a pan-Canadian digital archive that documents the history and heritage of the South Asian diaspora in Canada. SACDA partners with memory institutions, individuals, families, and organizations to digitize, describe, and provide online public access to heritage materials created by, or relevant to, the South Asian Canadian diaspora.

This film collection covers a broad range of topics – the rescue of civilians and soldiers trapped inside Burma by swollen rivers after the country’s fall to the Japanese in World War II, repairs on the railway line from Quetta to the Khyber Pass after the Quetta earthquake of 1935, relief work and disturbing scenes of the removal of bodies during the Partition period, the social lives of the Raj, children playing and going to school, royal weddings, Indian festivals and rites.

The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. It includes several different collections that can be searched, including collections of images and maps.

The South Asian Ephemera Collection is an openly accessible repository of items that spans a variety of subjects and languages and supports research, teaching, and private study. Newly acquired materials are digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

This is a collection of out of copyright books digitized by the Library of Congress relating to South Asia and available on the Internet Archive. You can search within the collection or browse via the facets in the sidebar.

This section of a larger guide on South Asian collections at the Library of Congress features digital primary source materials from the Asian Division along with digital items and collections from the Library's other reading rooms and research centers. Links to digital items and collections are provided for further exploration.

The Times of India is an English-language newspaper established in 1838. It is the oldest English-language newspaper in India. Under "Online Access" you can find information on the various years available through the library.