Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scientific Literature Databases
Tips for getting the most out of searches;
- Put in simple search terms or two-word search terms together. This works much better than entering long phrases.
- Always check the date of the articles you retrieve to make sure you are getting the most recent research.
- Look first for review articles. This will provide summary and background to help you understand the field. There are instructions how to do this for each database.
- These are an abstract databases, not full text. To find the full text or articles, follow instructions for each database below.
Databases for searching scientific literature
Use for biomedical articles.
Find Review articles by refining your search at the right hand side of the page.
Look for green spartan buttons indicating electronic version is available through MSU. These only appear if you access PubMed through this guide or the MSU Libraries site. If this doesn't work, then try the Find Text @MSU link next to it.
Web of Science
Use for any kind of science or psychology topic. Good for finding materials that may cross over between psychology and medicine/biology.
Find Review articles by refining your search at the left hand side of the page. See Review under "Document Type".
For full text, click on the Find Text @ MSU or the Full Text button. If one doesn't work, try the other.
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES
Use for searching psychology journals (as opposed to medical or biological).
There's not a good way to find Review articles in PsycInfo. I suggest just looking for journal articles.
You may need to change the sort from "relevance" to "newest first".
Full Text: Use the Find Text@MSU link to get to the full text. Many times this will take you to the article directly. Sometimes it will take you through an intermediate page with a link to search the MSU Libraries catalog. Click on this link to search our catalog to see if we have the journal either electronically or in hardcopy.