Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan data may also be available at the "United States" and "Worldwide" tabs.
Michigan GIS Open Data
State of Michigan GIS Open Data is an interactive portal to state GIS datasets. Preview sets and download.
Michigan 1 Meter DEM
An easy, interactive finding aid for 1 meter DEM data in Michigan. DEM data was derived from LiDAR as part of the USGS 3DEP program. This data and other state coverages are available at The National Map website.
A website providing easy download access to MODIS, LandSat, NAIP Imagery and more through interactive web maps.
Michigan Traffic Counts
Robust traffic count data and vehicle type counts for Michigan Trunklines. For 'shortcount' choose a County, sort by road or by city, checkmark your choices, View Report. Not georeferenced, but you can estimate one using the Station Description.
Michigan Automated Weather Network
Major objectives of MAWN include: Provision of quality data, information, and proven method methodologies for the expanded use of ICM and other weather-dependent management strategies (e.g. irrigation scheduling) in Michigan; facilitation of new research on the use of meteorological data in agricultural management; and the overall reduction of weather-dependent risk in agricultural systems for the grower and for the industry.
LAGOS-NE Lake GIS Data
This data package, LAGOS-NE-GIS v1.0, is 1 of 5 data packages associated with the LAGOS-NE database-- the LAke multi-scaled GeOSpatial and temporal database. Three of the data packages each contain different types of data for 51,101 lakes and reservoirs larger than 4 ha in 17 lake-rich U.S. states to support research on thousands of lakes. The LAGOS-NE GIS v1.0 module includes GIS datasets for: lake polygons and their hydrologic classification; wetland polygons and their classification; streams as a line coverage and their classification by stream order; the zones used for this study (state and county; hydrologic units [at the 4, 8 and 12 scales]); and, lake watersheds (IWS). We also include boundaries of U.S. states and Canadian provinces for mapping.
C-CAP Land Cover Atlas
An interactive interface and downloadable datasets. These nationally consistent, raster based products provide individual dates of land cover inventories. Up to 25 classes of land cover are mapped. Data is based upon 30 meter Landsat imagery. Michigan datasets are available for 1975, 1985, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2010, and 2016.
Great Lakes Coastal Resilience Planning Guide
Hazards and climate change resources that Great Lakes counties and municipalities can use to communicate coastal issues and inform existing and future land use, infrastructure, and natural resource plans and policies to enhance community resiliency.
Great Lakes Information Network
GLIN provides GIS data relevant to the Great Lakes Region. Layer subject categories include biota such as species ranges, climate, elevation, boundaries, shoreline, water features, and waterway facilities and use.
Great Lakes Bathymetry and Shoreline Data (NOAA)
Data from the Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory.
Great Lakes Aquatic Habitat Framework
GLAHF is a comprehensive spatial framework, database, and classification for Great Lakes ecological data. Note: data downloads are in ESRI file geodatabase format, NOT shapefiles.
USGS Streamflow data for Michigan
Realtime streamflows for internal rivers of Michigan. Plus links to other USGS water-related data.
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.