Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

SOC 362: Developing Societies: Cuba: Find Journal Articles

Prof. Jualynne Dodson

Prisma and HAPI Online focus on Latin America, and the Caribbean, but are multi-disciplinary in scope.

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. Each is produced by a different provider however, utilizing different search algorithms and hence differing search results. Try both!

HAPI Online

Coverage from 1970 forward. Cites articles and book reviews in more than 600 social science and humanities journals with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

Many HAPI citations link to full-text. Click through the Article Linker for full-text access from other sources.

Tip: HAPI assumes truncation. For example, “argentin” would return results including “argentina”, “argentine”, “argentinian”, etc.

Prisma

More than 150 full-text titles are currently available, most with a backfile to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Best Bet for Sociology

Other Indexes

NOTE: This is only a small selection of indexes available, intended to give you an idea of the breadth of resources that might be used for research in an interdisciplinary field like Latin American studies. Many more can be found on the Libraries' Databases page.

Proquest Research Library

In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, and social sciences.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, covering a variety of academic disciplines. The majority of the content is available in full-text, both in HTML and PDF formats.

Historical Abstracts

World history coverage, minus the United States and Canada. Indexes periodicals published from 1955-present.

Humanities Full Text

Index to articles in over 600 humanities periodicals in archaeology, art, film, folklore, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Indexing with abstracts as far back as 1984 and full text of articles from nearly 250 journals as far back as 1995.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Social Sciences Full Text

Covers core English-language periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994, with full text coverage from January 1995.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

What are abstracts?

Abstracts are brief summaries that describe the content and scope of an article. Abstracts allow researchers to quickly determine whether a particular article will be useful for a given research project.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
zeter@msu.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Questions about Sociology resources?

Contact Carin Graves

gravesc@msu.edu

Librarian for Sociology, Social Work, and Human Development and Family Studies

Michigan State University