Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

SOC 362: Developing Societies: Cuba: News and Current Events

Prof. Jualynne Dodson

Selected Resources

Access World News

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay

Same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 80 other countries. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Use the drop down menu "Select Title" to see papers organized by country or by language. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.

Latin America Data Base

Online news service in English, about Latin America. The service offers a searchable archive of articles dating from 1986, in addition to current news bulletins focusing on Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). Strengths are in economic and political news and analysis, including political parties and elections, economic integration, environment, human rights, and governmental and judicial reform.

FOR SPANISH SPEAKERS:  Informe!

Full-text articles from popular Spanish-language and bilingual magazines and news sources make this index unique. Some scholarly journals are also indexed. Search results found in "Academic Journals" display by default; change the tab at top of page to "Magazines" to see results found in popular sources.

Complete Guide to Newspaper Resources

MSU Libraries' Newspaper Resources Guide

The New York Times, 1851-2011  (under the "Historical Newspaper Databases" tab) is one notable resource.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
zeter@msu.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Questions about Sociology resources?

Contact Carin Graves

gravesc@msu.edu

Librarian for Sociology, Social Work, and Human Development and Family Studies

Michigan State University